We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveler rating
406
57
9
8
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
406
57
9
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt parfait the river no elevator downtown salida historic charm warm muffins third floor walk in closet modern amenities your luggage floor to ceiling windows organic coffee lovely park charming hotel continental breakfast full kitchen breakfast delivered
Filter
Updating list...
448 - 453 of 480 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

This would be a perfect Museum or Restaurant- NOT a place to sleep.
The rooms are as pretty as shown on the website and spacious. They have a good continental breakfast. You can hear each truck and older car that drives by and poor you if the person above you wears shoes! The management says it is because it is a historic place... Lame excuse . We always try to stay at older places e.gHassayampa Inn in Prescott Az and have never suffered from outside noise! This was a huge dissappointment! No shampoo or conditioner and no housekeeping unless you stay for more than 3 days even though rooms start at $160 a night-RIP OFF

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMHowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salidapalacehotel, Owner at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

The Palace Hotel is a fully renovated historic hotel with extensive sound mitigation improvements including new thermopane windows and code compliant sound separation between all units. Unfortunately our guest booked a suite facing the street where new utility installation and street demolition was simultaneously occuring during their stay. Additionally, there was an anniversary party directly above them who quite promptly and politely stopped upon request to quiet down a bit. For environmental reasons we do not provide the typical small bottles of shampoo and conditioner but rather offer guests a wide selection of top of the line shampoos and conditioners in standard size bottles at check in. Daily full housekeeping is available upon request. We do our utmost to respect our guests' privacy and do not enter rooms unless so directed. Our suite rates start at $120/night weekdays. Our current fall special offers the same suite for $90/night

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Staying at the Palace Hotel contributed greatly to enjoying a long weekend in Salida. The circa-1900 building provides an authentic experience of the Salida Downtown Historic District, all of which is designated a National Historic Place. The location is perfect, surrounded by all of the other period buildings, with a great selection of restaurants, bars, and shops nearby.

An extensive rebuilding of the interior was completed earlier this year, with what was originally a long-closed early 20th century workingman's 44-room hotel into 14 very nice, comfortable suites.

Now the quirky side. While our suite was spacious, including a kitchenette with copious, largely empty cabinets, we had no dresser. Not a single drawer for our clothing! The walk-in closet provided plenty of room for hanging items, but everything we couldn't hang stayed in our suitcases.

The bathroom had a small shelving unit with a nice selection of towels and washcloths, there were no towel bars for hanging and drying. Further, no shelves or cabinet for toiletries. The free-standing lavy sink had a couple inches of flat area surrounding the bowl, inadequate for two people.

Another oddity. No shampoo/conditioner/lotion was provided in the bathroom. The About Your Suite information sheet said that these items were available at the front desk for the asking. So we asked, and were given large (18 oz.) bottles of shampoo and conditioner. Providing the typical small hotel bottles of these products would be both more convenient for the guests and most probably less expensive for the hotel.

Finally, no daily housekeeping service (the info sheet said "We respect your privacy," a surprising lack of service, especially considering the room rates.

The impression conveyed is that the developer/owner/operator did a very good job of turning a very old, attractive building into a comfortable boutique hotel, but missed the target on some functional details, perhaps through inexperience in hotel operations.

Overall, the squawks were details (and could be, and I expect will be, easily rectified by management) and staying at the Palace was a nice experience.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so rooms on the third floor might be avoided. Think "steep staircases and 7000 ft. elevation.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paddock_Rat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend and could not have imagined staying anywhere else. Located right down town across from the park and steps from the river, This newly renovated hotel is everything you would expect from a boutique hotel in some of the great cities of America. It has that old charm with the comforts and upgrades you would expect for a 4 star hotel. Every room has a kitchenette which is ideal for longer stays. Every morning at 7 the staff puts out parfaits, and an assortment of pastries along with your own coffee grounds in a nice little glass jar to take back to your room for a nice little breakfast before starting your day. The main lobby may be the biggest treat of this hotel. Plein Air oil painter Joshua Been has a studio set up in the lobby where he is typically painting every day when in town and is always happy to discuss his most recent painting on the easel and discuss other works located around the lobby. We found our self hanging in for a night or two and sitting in the lobby, enjoying a nice glass of wine and talking with and watching Josh work his magic. Great thing is this hotel is in the heart of the city and always people walking by, restaurants and bars nearby and always a site to see on the streets. Great stay overall and would not stay anywhere else. Did I mention an affordable stay as well? Get your self an explore the outdoor environment of Salida and stay at The Palace hotel!

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Look on the website. Some rooms face the park, some face the water, some face the mountains!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edsbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This newly renovated hotel has a charm that is hard to find elsewhere. It has been redone down to the finest details. From the serving sets to the door hinges. Nice clean down bedding. The location is right in down town, with galleries and restaurants around the corners. And hiking trails just across the river. Too bad we had only one day to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyRunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband & I have stayed at the palace twice now and just loved it. Beautiful hotel, incredibly clean, delicious breakfast literally right outside your door. And it's located in a great little town with lots to eat and see. So worth the trip, I'd even say its worth a couple trips!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews