We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveler rating
401
56
9
8
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
401
56
9
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurt parfaitthe riverno elevatordowntown salidahistoric charmwarm muffinsthird floorwalk in closetmodern amenitiesyour luggagefloor to ceiling windowsorganic coffeelovely parkcharming hotelcontinental breakfastfull kitchenbreakfast delivered
Filter
Updating list...
448 - 453 of 474 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

First of all, hard to see why this is not a listed as a hotel (rather than a B&B), because that's certainly what it was 100 years ago. Now it's a boutique unique hotel with a nice breakfast.
Where to start . . . The owners took a decrepit old railroad hotel building and turned the original 44 rooms into 14 suites or suite-type accomodations. All new bedding, bathrooms, double-paned windows, kitchens or kitchenettes with new appliances, excellent linens, and either anitque or good reproductions of the kind of furniture you would have found 100 years ago, except new, clean and nicer! The best bed I've slept in (including, unfortunately, our own) in years. Yet all the woodwork, moulding, stairways, tin ceilings, have been retained. It's hard to look at the interior and imagine how many walls must have been knocked out, because it looks as if it's always been this way. And such nice little touches like rheostats on the ceiling fan, kitchen and bath lighting. And kitchen backsplases created out of recycled tin ceiling material. The kitchens were unusally well stocked with period china, all kinds of glassware, and great knives! Our room and kitchen had six huge windows overlooking the park but with hidden black-out curtains we could lower at night.
The owners/operators were as enjoyable as the rooms. Friendly and helpful, knowledgeable about the town and area, anxious to please and very, very proud of their creation.
Adequate breakfasts were left on a sideboard on each floor every morning: fresh pastry assortments from the bakery down the street, yugurt topped with fresh fruit and granola, juice and half and half, and fruit. The hotel provides fresh ground coffee daily for you to make in your kitchenette.
Finally, the location is perfect. It's right across from a very pleasant park with gigantic cottonwoods and a half block from the Arkansas River and Salida's neat riverfront park. Literally a dozen galleries and ten restaurants are within a 2-3 block walk. Parking is usually available right on the street in front of the hotel. If not, reserved off-street parking is a block away. Salida's a great little relaxing, gallery and restaurant town with wonderful historic buildings and a very laid-back vibe. Treat yourself to a weekend getaway. And don't stay anywhere else! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room ("Arsenic and Old Lace") was one of the cheaper with wonderful views over the park! I would recommend an F Street (main street) view. With the double-paned windows, street sound was not a problem for us (although we did have the a.c. on at night).
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niwotois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Each room had a full kitchen and living room. The rooms were beautiful and were a joy to stay in. But only for one night meant we couldn't make use of the room. It was lovely though. We had a roll top bath and big tv. And right in the heart of Salida, a few steps away from bars and restaurants. Especially the restaurant by the river , a great place. The hotel doesn't have an elevator but does have free self-laundry facilities which are great if you are on a road trip. Quirky, stylish and immaculate rooms. A great place to stay. Quite unexpected.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We just happen to stumble on this hotel as we were downtown. My wife went in to look at the art work as it's a gallery too. She met Fred and his wife, the owners, and after a quick view of the room we knew this was our place for the night. This old building has been beautifully restored and no detail was left out. We had two room suite with small kitchen which was a perfect size for my family of 4. I can't give 6 stars for service and friendliness of the owners but I would if I could. This place is like staying in an old friends home. It's great to be walking distance of the shops and restaurants in such a cute town of Salida. The beds were very comfortable with really nice linens. Slept like a baby as they say. Love the place and we will be back next summer. I may need to book my reservations now as word gets out about the Palace Hotel it will be full all the time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

It was great stayed in the govenors suite it was very nice quiet and well appinted so comfortable, The breakfast was nice, It was quiet with the windows closed the staff was very nice and helpfull we have stayed in slaida many times this is what Salida needed. The only marginl part was parking. it kind of came and went. We had a great time in the city and the room was a great place to go back too.

Room Tip: Get a suite it was what all suiets should be
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikemandenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I took my daughter and her boyfriend to Salida for a couple nights to relax and unwind. We had heard that the Palace was open so we made our reservations online and were excited to experience this historic hotel. We asked for a late check in and everything went smoothly when we arrived. We were in room 205 which is a two bedroom suite. It was clean, spacious and perfect for our needs except for one thing. I thought it was unusual to have a two bedroom suite that only had seating for three in the living area. It didn't stop us from enjoying the space or the closeness to the river, shops and restaurants. The continental breakfast was served in the main hallway and consisted of yogurt parfaits, muffins and various types of juice. Since each room has a fully stocked kitchen in it, coffee grounds were also provided to use in the coffee maker in each room. We enjoyed our stay here immensely and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 205 is a two bedroom suite with a dining table w/four chairs, seating for three and a full kitchen. Great for a family or two couples traveling together.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews