We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveler rating
410
57
9
8
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
410
57
9
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt parfait the river no elevator downtown salida historic charm warm muffins third floor walk in closet modern amenities your luggage floor to ceiling windows organic coffee lovely park charming hotel continental breakfast full kitchen breakfast delivered
Filter
Updating list...
465 - 470 of 484 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was our first stay in Salida and at the Palace Hotel. We loved it. The hotel was renovated and has been open for three months post-renovation. Our suite was tastefully decorated with antiques or antique look-alikes. It had a small sitting room, a kitchenette (with stove!), a small bathroom, and a bedroom with a walk-in closet. The bed was very comfortable. As I love small spaces, I thought this was great. The staff is very friendly. There are a lot of nice touches, like the yummy coffee in a jar with the hotel logo on it by the coffee maker, the TV hidden inside a china hutch/media cabinet (I don't like how the TV is the focal point in most hotel rooms!), the journal on the table where you can record your thoughts about your stay, the thoughtful breakfast offerings on the buffet in the hallway (yogurt parfaits, apples, baked goods, OJ, and milk), and the staff's efforts to be green. They don't use those little travel-sized toiletries. They do have full-sized shampoo and conditioner you can request, but if you are a lotion addict like I am, you'd better bring your own--they don't have any. A great place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights around the 4th of July and couldn't be happier with the choice.

The room we had 302 overlooked the park with floor to ceiling windows and European / western charm. Super comfy bed, sitting room, kitchen, walk in closet, 10' ceiling... Wow

You need to see it to understand.

The owner and staff were extrely nice and we wish we could have stayed longer but our next cycling trip to CO will be based around Salida and the Palace hotel. They have secure bike storage in te back of hotel normally due to the $ of our bikes we would not stay in a hotel that didn't allow them in the rooms but one look at the rooms and you'll understand why. Without sounding staged " This place is amazing "

I think their website is up as this is newly renovated so we had no idea what a gem this would turn out to be.

Thank you and see you again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bullawhoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Awesome Hotel, and great people running it! The rooms have obviously been restored by people who took the time to do it right, all the way through. I'll stay here from now on, when I'm in Salida. No compaints at all.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeroyMFJenkins101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at the Palace on the 1st night of our honeymoon and returned at the end for another night b/c it was sooo beautiful. The owners ,Vickie and Fred's, attention to detail is amazing .We stayed in the Aurora Suite and it was stunning. The bedding was super luxurious and the yogurt parfaits were yummy. We cannot wait to return next year!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mads412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

On our recent Honeymoon in Colorado The Palace was the first stop on our trip. We found it through the Salida Chamber website. Vickie and Fred said we were the first online booking. All I can say is that it was an amazing experience. They have done an excellent job with turning this place in to one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. We come from the east and rooms like theirs would be easily between $300 to $500 a night. This is a 5 star hotel that won't break the bank. From the minute we walked through the door the owners and staff made us feel like family. We had such a nice stay we decided to come back and stay another night near the end of our trip. A MUST STAY IN COLORADO!!!

Room Tip: Check out their website for the themed rooms
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ds8497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews