We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at.”
Review of Palace Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at.”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights around the 4th of July and couldn't be happier with the choice.

The room we had 302 overlooked the park with floor to ceiling windows and European / western charm. Super comfy bed, sitting room, kitchen, walk in closet, 10' ceiling... Wow

You need to see it to understand.

The owner and staff were extrely nice and we wish we could have stayed longer but our next cycling trip to CO will be based around Salida and the Palace hotel. They have secure bike storage in te back of hotel normally due to the $ of our bikes we would not stay in a hotel that didn't allow them in the rooms but one look at the rooms and you'll understand why. Without sounding staged " This place is amazing "

I think their website is up as this is newly renovated so we had no idea what a gem this would turn out to be.

Thank you and see you again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bullawhoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    45
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
54
225
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Awesome Hotel, and great people running it! The rooms have obviously been restored by people who took the time to do it right, all the way through. I'll stay here from now on, when I'm in Salida. No compaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeroyMFJenkins101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at the Palace on the 1st night of our honeymoon and returned at the end for another night b/c it was sooo beautiful. The owners ,Vickie and Fred's, attention to detail is amazing .We stayed in the Aurora Suite and it was stunning. The bedding was super luxurious and the yogurt parfaits were yummy. We cannot wait to return next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mads412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

On our recent Honeymoon in Colorado The Palace was the first stop on our trip. We found it through the Salida Chamber website. Vickie and Fred said we were the first online booking. All I can say is that it was an amazing experience. They have done an excellent job with turning this place in to one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. We come from the east and rooms like theirs would be easily between $300 to $500 a night. This is a 5 star hotel that won't break the bank. From the minute we walked through the door the owners and staff made us feel like family. We had such a nice stay we decided to come back and stay another night near the end of our trip. A MUST STAY IN COLORADO!!!

Room Tip: Check out their website for the themed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ds8497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night but wish we had time for more! This place is so charming, staff is very friendly and the breakfast was wonderful! Our room was spacious and clean. We would definitely go back! Great place!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTACW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I placed a last minute reservation at the Palace Hotel in Salida, Colorado. Fred, the owner was very helpful and made our stay great. I would recommend this hotel for their great rooms, yummy lite fare breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

This boutique hotel in downtown Salida is a wonderful place to stay while you enjoy the town. No details are missing. The hotel is very environmentally conscious as well. The owners and staff are helpful and friendly. We will most definitely return.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TaosHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
1.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
1.0 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#5 of 16 in Salida
237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
16.4 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: 204 N F St, Salida, CO 81201-2134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Historic Hotel Downtown Salida,The Palace Hotel is Salida, Colorado's, premier historic boutique hotel established in 1909. Uncompromised elegance and "Old West" charm create a bastion of comfort and class deep in the heart of the Rocky Mountains. Here, vintage chic meets the modern amenities, in 15 genuinely considered suites.Located in Historic Downtown Salida, Colorado alongside the banks of the Arkansas River, the newly renovated Palace Hotel offers boutique caliber lodging within footsteps of shopping, dining, biking and fly-fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing