We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 6AM wake up shot in Salida”
Review of Cafe Dawn

Cafe Dawn
Ranked #2 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: CAFE DAWN is committed to offering a great cup of coffee and fast, friendly service. We proudly serve Allegro Organic, Fair Trade espresso, coffee and loose tea, along with delicious and locally-made baked goods, frittatas and egg sandwiches. Established in 2008, CAFE DAWN has been voted BEST coffee shop by the community every year.
Carlsbad CA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great 6AM wake up shot in Salida”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Good coffee with great service from owner and staff. 3 days in salida and we have been there 4 times already. Great espresso. Owner writes books when he is not totally engrossed in all things coffee experience.

Looks like an old garage that has been well converted. No WiFi, has NY Times.

Breakfast Burritos and lunch Burritos on sale . Real local spot - its packed with regulars early morning. Great company.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brackstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    31
    5
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Coffee in Salida”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Ok, we have a bias. If a coffee shop makes us smile (and serves 8 oz. drinks) then we are happy campers. In this case, we stopped by twice during our visit to Salida, and got perfect drinks both times. And they were already remembering our drinks by day 2!.

Wonderful building, great coffee, happy and skilled staff. What is not to like!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig and Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meet the locals”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Many mornings you'll be hard-pressed to find a seat with all of the people packed in it. Really friendly staff and great coffee

Helpful?
Thank Dustybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great coffee”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Probably the best coffee in town. Friendly employees... and plenty of room to sit down and read or chat, or get online.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank andydarrohn240b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
286 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Coffee excellent, food just ok”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great coffee, friendly servers, clearly THE place to meet and greet. My burrito was gluey and overpriced. I didn't see much in the way of baked goods although it was breakfast time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zialucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Dawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing