We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Great Wall

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Great Wall
Ranked #38 of 62 Restaurants in Salida
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: http://www.coloradoheadwaters.com/dining/index.cfm
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Very good chinese food. We had 3 different items on the menu - all were very good. Large portions. A little expensive but reasonable, about $10-$13 per entree. Very quick service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mspschatzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    11
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
VT
Level Contributor
326 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

It's Chinese food at its most ordinary. Service somewhat brusque but quick. Could have been any of several thousand average Chinese restaurants. Not cheap. No brown rice.

Helpful?
Thank VTLongTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Really good Chinese!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I normally avoid Chinese food as a matter of course...I simple rarely like it...at least how it is served quite often in this country. I do make exceptions, though. The Great Wall is one of those. This was REALLY good...especially for Chinese. Again...I am neither an expert nor a big fan of the cuisine. I had the pork with scallions...it was slightly sweet but not overly so. The vegetables were perfect...not overcooked. I normally don't like fried rice but this was really good. The egg drop soup was decent...I've had better but I'm not going to complain about their's. Egg roll really good. Service was prompt and cordial. I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bogateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
1 review
“Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I was there just yesterday, and I was very disappointed in the service that I got. No apology for there mistake,She did not believe me when I said there was a hair in my food. She looked at my hair like I had placed it there, and I do not do that type of thing. I told her not to worry about bringing me another dish she then said "no I don't cook for you". Very rude!! No discount either at all. I will never go back there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Latina89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Okay food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Nothing outstanding about their food, but it was tasty. The place is small, but cozy. The waitress was very friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarieH774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Wall also viewed

 

Been to The Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing