We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mountain Motel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

I can't say enough about this place. We stayed an extra day because we just didn't want to leave. The room (#11) has a full kitchen, large bath with jetted tub and a separate shower, and double sinks. There were full sized shampoo bottles in the shower, something I've never seen before in a hotel. The linens were exceptional and they spared no expense there. There was a full sized coffee pot with coffee provided. I was very impressed. The managers (I believe) are a husband and wife team who obviously have an extensive background in the hospitality business. They run a tight ship. She is a delightful host and he is taking steps to make the property more environmentally friendly by building a wind generator. Excellent people and a really great property. We will definitely make this a stop each year during our vacation.

Room Tip: A great place to relax.
See more room tips
Green Features: Awesome--the hotel management is using wind energy and has an easy to access recycling area.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey14750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    65
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
73
81
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, CO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

I have to be honest here, I was a little taken aback when we arrived by the condition of our room after reading all the great reviews. I wasn't expecting the Ritz, but our cottage, #2, definitely needs some work. The carpet was dirty, the bedding was worn and didn't look that clean and the windows were so dirty you could barely see out. This place has lots of potential, but really needs some upgrading and cleaning up. Yes, we like cool and funky, but this motel misses the mark in that it is cool and funky on the outside, but the inside needs some work.

The proprietor, Ira, and Jen who works the front office and cleans, were great, they really were. Without them I think the motel would probably not do as well. Kudos for them for trying to keep the place going.

Salida is a great town, great restaurants, great riverside walks, and lots of great outdoor things to do, fishing, hiking, biking. You won't be bored and I guess if you just have to sleep at Mountain Motel it's worth a try.

Green Features: Wind generator being installed by Ira while we were there, very cool.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Editorchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

What a great hidden gem - rooms are recently remodeled, clean, and comfortable - love it! The staff was welcoming and friendly. It is in a good location, a short distance from downtown and on the main road to other local attractions.

Room Tip: room 11 is behind the building and away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank cosk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

First and foremost, Mountain Motel is not the Marriott. That is a good thing.

We had a great stay here in a wonderful town. The room was clean, comfortable, and had lots of character. My kids really enjoyed seeing the deer in the adjacent field, and being close to McDonalds and 7-11 were big benefits (not like anything in Salida is far ... but these two are a nice walk). Being able to use the washer and dryer was a big benefit!

The only thing preventing me from giving MM a 5 ... the size of the bathroom. It was just the right size for my 3 and 6 year olds ... but for a grown adult ... it was very small. Also need to bring your own soap, the little bars given are not very good.

Overall ... there is SO much to do in Salida we were only in the cottage to sleep and get ready in the morning.

I highly recommend this motel, my family and I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topdawgnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had a nice 2 day stay arranged well in advance, which can be problematic at some establishments. Ira runs a tight ship when it comes to staying on top of his customer's needs. We had 2 rooms, 10 and 11. Eleven was a suite with kitchen, etc. We were there on a very busy weekend with a rock and mineral show and art fair going on in Buena Vista plus the height of tourist season. Reservations, accommodations were great. As another reviewer described the place, "great value and nicely funky" is right on. Clean, continuously being refurbished to maintain a comfortable environment and everything you need at hand. We'll be back more than once to our favorite area.

Room Tip: Higher floors, our experience, have great air flow and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Mountain Motel in Salida! The location is perfect - liquor store on site and 7-11 across the street. Washer and dryers available for use. The room and bathroom were spotless and the beds were very comfortable. The best part was the deer that visited every day right outside of our hotel. What more could you ask for? Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Three of us had unit 10, a spacious corner unit on the 2nd fl which gave us a nice big picture window & 2 other good sized ones. Not high end but some very nice touches - retro dining furniture, lovely bathroom sink / cabinet combo, thick Egyptian cotton towels. There are benches in front of the cottages, 1 on the landing with a table & 1 right outside our room where it was nice to sit in the evening cool. They do a lot with a little and the you really can't beat the value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.4 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
1.5 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Motel

Property: Mountain Motel
Address: 1425 E Rainbow Blvd, Salida, CO 81201-3203
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hitchin' Post Motel, formerly know as the Mountain Motel welcomed its first guests in 1947. In 1996, six more rooms were built to accommodate the tremendous influx of visitors to the motel. The Hitchin' Post Motel has been a family endeavor, being locally owned and operated since 1947... Over 55 years! In December 2011, the owners of The Mountain Motel felt that it was time to showcase the charm and history of the motel by changing the name to The Hitchin' Post Motel representing the by-gone era of the 1940's, 50's and 60's. After transforming the office area into a lounge and reading room, the energetic owners set to work to begin outfitting the remaining nine rooms with an exhaustive inventory of Mountain Western Retro furniture, fixtures and room decor. Their vision to make the Hitchin'Post, Salida's FIRST "boutique mote;" and reinventing an American icon - the roadside motel is coming to life!Foremost in the minds of the staff at the Hitchin'Post Motel is to provide guests with a comfortable, cozy, distinctive and memorable stay. One-size DOES NOT fit all! Each room has been reimagined to bring in the owner's own style to make each room personable and "one-of-a-kind." Room decor is "Mountain Western Retro" - reminiscent of properties dating back to the 1940's, 1950's, and early 1960's. We consider our motel an ever evolving work of "motel art," where updates and decor are an on-going effort. We pride ourselves on being the only local motel to bring the "boutique motel" experience to guests visiting Salida.A locally owned motel, the Hitchin' Post Motel is noticeably different in look and feel from other hotel/motel chains - we love it when our guests are pleasantly "surprised" to find that the motel offers much more than a room to sleep.We invite YOU to share our "Mountain Western Retro" experience! Whether it be... Sharing a bowl of chili on a cold day with other guests, or sipping the special "Hitchin'Post Ice Tea on a hot day... Your stay at the Hitchin'Post Motel in Salida, Colorado will be a memory to share forever and keep you coming back, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing