We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite the gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mountain Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Motel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Centennial
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite the gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

My husband and I wanted to take a little weekend getaway, but didn't want the usual chain style hotel. We found this little charming place and it was just perfect for what we wanted. When you fill out the reservations online, they ask you to list the cottage and room choices you would like. I picked two cottages and one room thinking we would get one of them. To my dismay, we didn't get any of them. I was a little upset at first because the room we ended up with, although very nice, didn't quite have the "boutique" feel I was looking for. Once the (very kind and patient) owner explained to us that our reservation was a little last minute and that was all he had, we decided to stay. I am so glad we did! The beds were so comfortable, the bathroom roomy and even though our room didn't have a kitchenette (microwave and fridge though), there were actual dishes, flatware, glasses and coffee mugs. We even had a full size coffee pot, filters and coffee! The place was full our first night there, but we didn't hear any of the other guests. It was charming, peaceful and quaint. Oh, and pet friendly as well which was quite the bonus!

If you are looking for room service, high prices and snotty staff, this is NOT the place for you. If you are looking for a family owned, unique and comfortable place with hosts that will make you feel like family, then by all means, book a room or a cottage.

We loved our short stay here and are planning on making this a weekend getaway destination for the future.

Room Tip: If you want a cottage, book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AmusedMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    65
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
73
81
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stumbled across this wonderful little motel the night before we left on our trip! We were planning on driving straight from Fort Collins to Mesa Verde, but decided to get a head start the night before and drive to Salida. I found Mountain Motel due to TripAdvisor. I called a few different hotels to get rates and MM also had a special rate on TripAdvisor for $65 for a room. I thought that was a great rate. We were really just looking for a decent place to lay our heads down for a few hours, as we were going to get up early and leave the next morning to head the rest of the way to Mesa Verde. What we found was much more than that! Ira runs the place and he's the one who took my reservation.

I kept in touch with him the night we were arriving, as we hit some really bad weather and it took a lot longer than expected. He said it was no problem and he waited up late for us. We were so exhausted and thankful for the room once we finally arrived.

We stayed in #5. It was a very good sized room with two beds, a chair, a table/chairs, microwave and fridge. The beds were VERY comfortable with the MOST comfortable sheets on them! All three of us agreed that they were heaven the next morning, as they made my husband sleep in late, when he is normally up at the crack of dawn!

I would not call Mountain Motel: a chain, boring, plain, or standard.

I would call them: funky, unique, hospitable, comfy, and just all around outstanding!

Ira was already up and waiting for us to check out, since I'd told him we'd be up early, but really didn't end up being up so early, because the beds were too comfy! He let my daughter grab a bit handful of candy from the jar in the check in/out area.

We would definitely go back! It would be a great home base area for exploring and doing lots of fun things! Go check them out!

Room Tip: The rooms have a little back patio that would be nice to hang out on when the weather is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I've stayed at Mountain Motel during a couple business trips to Salida within the last 6 months. Both times it's been a breeze working with Ira – he's super helpful and accessible if I needed anything. If you're looking for a convenient, clean and accessible place to stay in Salida, you'll be very happy with your choice of staying at Mountain Motel. Plus, if you're a dog person, you'll love meeting Ira's dog Belle – she's a sweetie.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zach W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I needed a hotel room for 1 night that allowed pets. I was in town for a knee surgery appointment. Ira was very helpful with all of my questions. The room was super clean, comfy, and close to all of my needs for the next day. My friend forgot her personal keys in the room while checking out. Ira called the hospital and got a note to my nurses. Our drive home was 6 hours, would have been a real bummer if we did not have those keys when we got home! I will stay here again when in the area! Ira & Belle are great!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

My partner & I stayed here for 2 nights on our way to Durango. The motel is close to Highway 50, a little noisy. We rang the bell & waited a little while for the owner to arrive. We were shown to Chalet 3 which was a little dark due to the stained timber walls & ceiling, small kitchen area, tiny bathroom. Laundry facilities which was nice. On closure inspection the floor in the chalet wasn't that clean behind the bed or under the chest of drawers, curtains need a wash & updating. Not good for walking into town as no or few sidewalks. Good places to eat close by as well as mini golf.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue3127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I am always leery about staying in a hotel that is privately owned. I tend to not trust it will be comfortable and nice. But my husband and I were pleasantly surprised by the rooms. They were well decorated...the bed was so comfortable. The linens and bedding were of high quality and I couldn't be more happy with our choice. I would recommend and encourage anyone to stay at this hotel when they travel through Salida.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is definitely the backdrop for the perfect Colorado memory! We stayed 3 nights and after days of sightseeing, shopping and eating - it was a great home to which to return. CLEAN, CUTE, and COMFORTABLE. What more could one ask for - oh, yes - it was also a great deal money-wise. And, of course, Ira and Belle were the hosts with the mosts! Thanks for adding to the beauty of the surroundings.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 3, which is perfect for a couple. It features a sitting area, a kitchenette, and...
See more room tips
Green Features: The easy access to the recycling bins made it easy to remember to recycle.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nebraska2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.4 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
1.5 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Motel

Property: Mountain Motel
Address: 1425 E Rainbow Blvd, Salida, CO 81201-3203
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hitchin' Post Motel, formerly know as the Mountain Motel welcomed its first guests in 1947. In 1996, six more rooms were built to accommodate the tremendous influx of visitors to the motel. The Hitchin' Post Motel has been a family endeavor, being locally owned and operated since 1947... Over 55 years! In December 2011, the owners of The Mountain Motel felt that it was time to showcase the charm and history of the motel by changing the name to The Hitchin' Post Motel representing the by-gone era of the 1940's, 50's and 60's. After transforming the office area into a lounge and reading room, the energetic owners set to work to begin outfitting the remaining nine rooms with an exhaustive inventory of Mountain Western Retro furniture, fixtures and room decor. Their vision to make the Hitchin'Post, Salida's FIRST "boutique mote;" and reinventing an American icon - the roadside motel is coming to life!Foremost in the minds of the staff at the Hitchin'Post Motel is to provide guests with a comfortable, cozy, distinctive and memorable stay. One-size DOES NOT fit all! Each room has been reimagined to bring in the owner's own style to make each room personable and "one-of-a-kind." Room decor is "Mountain Western Retro" - reminiscent of properties dating back to the 1940's, 1950's, and early 1960's. We consider our motel an ever evolving work of "motel art," where updates and decor are an on-going effort. We pride ourselves on being the only local motel to bring the "boutique motel" experience to guests visiting Salida.A locally owned motel, the Hitchin' Post Motel is noticeably different in look and feel from other hotel/motel chains - we love it when our guests are pleasantly "surprised" to find that the motel offers much more than a room to sleep.We invite YOU to share our "Mountain Western Retro" experience! Whether it be... Sharing a bowl of chili on a cold day with other guests, or sipping the special "Hitchin'Post Ice Tea on a hot day... Your stay at the Hitchin'Post Motel in Salida, Colorado will be a memory to share forever and keep you coming back, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing