We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, friendly, reasonably priced, this motel's a winner”
Review of Mountain Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Motel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seward, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quaint, friendly, reasonably priced, this motel's a winner”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I like places with personality, friendly staff, and comfortable rooms. Mountain Motel has all the above. Each room is unique, The room we had included a fully outfitted kitchen, jacuzzi tub, and comfortable beds. It felt like home. The manager Ira and the other staff members were friendly and helpful. It was a fun place to stay and we'll return when next in Salida.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ResBayAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    66
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
76
81
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The Mountain Motel feels like home away from home. Cozy room that's set up with flatware, mugs, glasses, and a microwave. Made for a great launch pad for skiing at nearby Monarch Mountain. The owner couldn't be friendlier. We will definitely stay here again and can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My family has been vactioning in Salida for years and have stayed at most of the motels in Salida area and we always keep coming back to the Mountaim Motel very pet friendly the new owners are great the rooms are priced right. keep up the good work

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Very pleased--clean, spacious, fully furnished & equipped. No oven, so prepared to cook on the stove. Small shower, but it had a decent showerhead. We especially loved the way they pay attention to detail w/all their decorative touches. Friendly owner...very accommodating. Look forward to staying again sometime!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Beautiful, clean, and comfortable room with extremely unique and charming decorations. So much character! Owner, Ira greeted me at check-in and immediately made me feel at home in his mountain motel. Will absolutely stay here again and recommend anyone traveling through Salida or skiing Monarch to rest their head here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LaurSwan0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed in one of the cabins and it was very comfortable, great bed.. I liked the layout that provided a separate sitting area. Good use of a small space. I will stay here again when in the Salida area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Hotel was just what we were looking for - a place to crash between ski days at Monarch. Very friendly, greeted upon arrival by name by our host Ira, with our room waiting and open. Small, rustic but just what we needed. Place had a small kitchen, beds with multiple down quilts for the cold nights and the rooms were VERY quite, especially considering the location next to the hiway and a car dealership. If you want to base camp in Salida to ski Monarch (or other activities) on the cheap this is a really good choice.

Room Tip: We were in cottage four. We booked on line originally in cottage two, but my notes for booking spec...
See more room tips
Green Features: Salida is in a great (beautiful) environment, but green practices were not a distiguishing (or deragatory) factor.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leonard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.4 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.6 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 16 in Salida
201 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Salida
Super 8 Salida
#3 of 16 in Salida
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Motel

Property: Mountain Motel
Address: 1425 E Rainbow Blvd, Salida, CO 81201-3203
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hitchin' Post Motel, formerly know as the Mountain Motel welcomed its first guests in 1947. In 1996, six more rooms were built to accommodate the tremendous influx of visitors to the motel. The Hitchin' Post Motel has been a family endeavor, being locally owned and operated since 1947... Over 55 years! In December 2011, the owners of The Mountain Motel felt that it was time to showcase the charm and history of the motel by changing the name to The Hitchin' Post Motel representing the by-gone era of the 1940's, 50's and 60's. After transforming the office area into a lounge and reading room, the energetic owners set to work to begin outfitting the remaining nine rooms with an exhaustive inventory of Mountain Western Retro furniture, fixtures and room decor. Their vision to make the Hitchin'Post, Salida's FIRST "boutique mote;" and reinventing an American icon - the roadside motel is coming to life!Foremost in the minds of the staff at the Hitchin'Post Motel is to provide guests with a comfortable, cozy, distinctive and memorable stay. One-size DOES NOT fit all! Each room has been reimagined to bring in the owner's own style to make each room personable and "one-of-a-kind." Room decor is "Mountain Western Retro" - reminiscent of properties dating back to the 1940's, 1950's, and early 1960's. We consider our motel an ever evolving work of "motel art," where updates and decor are an on-going effort. We pride ourselves on being the only local motel to bring the "boutique motel" experience to guests visiting Salida.A locally owned motel, the Hitchin' Post Motel is noticeably different in look and feel from other hotel/motel chains - we love it when our guests are pleasantly "surprised" to find that the motel offers much more than a room to sleep.We invite YOU to share our "Mountain Western Retro" experience! Whether it be... Sharing a bowl of chili on a cold day with other guests, or sipping the special "Hitchin'Post Ice Tea on a hot day... Your stay at the Hitchin'Post Motel in Salida, Colorado will be a memory to share forever and keep you coming back, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing