We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing sunset ride!”

Granite Mountain Outfitters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Trail Rides or Horseback Rides 1 hour Horseback Rides, 2.5 hour Horseback Riding, 1/2 day Trail Rides,/. "A Ride of a Lifetime" Granite Mountain Outfitters horses are gentle and are suited for beginner to experienced riders. We look forward to giving you a ride of a lifetime, experienced guides, responsive horses and fabulous country! Native mountain horses are sure-footed and allow for a western experience of scenic mountain views, wildflowers and wildlife. Horseback rides or trail rides are guided and specialize in scenic rides with personalized attention. From novice to expert we will match the horse, the rider, and the group to each rider's ability. An ideal group size is no more than 4-6 horses; however, larger groups are catered to on an individual basis. Riding helmets are available for children and adults at no charge and are ASTM-SEI approved. The rides leave at 8700ft riding to 10,000ft viewing the Sangre de Cristo's, San Lewis valley, historic Mt Ouray & the Collegiate Peaks. A short driving distance from the Buena Vista and Salida area. We ride with pride and have a ton of fun!
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
“Amazing sunset ride!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

While kids at camp, my wife and I started our Colorado getaway with this truly amazing sunset ride. The trail is beautiful crossing over a creek and climbing elevation from 8,700 to 10,000 of the cool aspen forest. The horses were easy to ride even for their relatively inexperienced guests from the Tx coast. Our guide, Ann, was very personable alternating interesting history and facts with her corny jokes. Took a camera for spectacular views. Definitely suggest the short drive if you are in the Salida/Buena Vista area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twin Lakes, Colorado
1 review
“Horse sense”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The quality of the horses, and their excellent care, is what I first noticed on arrival. You look to see the spectacular view,and want to ride into the sunset on these well cared for animals. Sue will give you the way to do this.Her people skills allow even the most amateur cowboy to be a "really rider".feeling safe, and accommplished by the end of the trail.Dorsey Creek trails are beautiful examples of our high mountain splendor! Private property rides such as Granite Mountain Outfitters provides, are unequaled,unspoiled,and unique.Sues staff is friendly, knowledgable,and experienced with their charges of the day. We enjoyed discriptions of the area,wildlife,and history,while riding the trails.I wouldnt hesitate to refer Granite Mountain Outfitters to any of my guests as a highlight to their vacation experience.Hats off to this business for trying to please every person crossing their cattle guard!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roadhouseinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Wonderful ride!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Thank you to Evelyn accompanied by horses Sally, Farrah and Leroy for a great Saturday morning ride. The horses are very well taken care of, very gentle and very easy to ride and Evelyn the guide ensured we had a great experience. We will return soon, and I highly recommend them!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Autumn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true Colorado experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I live in the area, and have three horses of my own, but when guests or family come to visit and want to ride horses in the mountains, Granite Mountain is the best way to go. Sue keeps a herd of great horses and takes very good care of them ... and the horses take very good care of their riders. Each rider is matched to an appropriate mount, taking experience, temperment, and physical build into consideration. The scenery is beautiful and the wranglers very skilled and personable. A wonderful Colorado experience no matter where you come from.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ameille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
“Lovely Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My friends and I took the sunset ride through the mountains for a few hours. It was so pretty. Randy and Evelyn took great care in selecting the right animals for our experience level. No incidents with the horses. The guide told us about the flora and fauna that we were seeing. She also had a few tall tails in her pocket that were amusing. The views were great. I would recommend this ride to anyone. They also have helmets if you choose to wear one.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granite Mountain Outfitters also viewed

 

Been to Granite Mountain Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing