We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ameri-Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Boathouse Cantina

Boathouse Cantina
Ranked #4 of 62 Restaurants in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Boathouse Cantina in Salida, CO we believe in supporting our local businesses and local artists. That's why we only serve the freshest local organic produce.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ameri-Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good for kids. Somewhat creative Mexican-style dishes predominate the menu. Nice outdoor seating in the alley, although we never saw the river. Great french fries. Not much in the veggie or no-red-meat department (other than chicken). Good salads, though. Service was decent. Good beer list.

After a few days in Salida, you'll run out of better places, so stop in to the Boathouse.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PickyTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    252
    90
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
437 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Location Medicore Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Most staff were friendly and helpful. Lunch was burgers and we were not impressed by the frozen patties for the $10+ price. Beer was good but over-priced for lunch at $5 a glass.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Boathouse Cantina!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Annual visit to Salida and we must visit the Boathouse Cantina everytime! I always order the Baja Fish Taco---Blackened mahi mahi topped with citrus sour cream, slaw and lime. They are served with corn & black bean salsa and pico de gallo, homemade house potato chips & fried green chilies. Simply delicious with a "side" of Margarita:) Can't beat the view of the Arkansas River from the shady porch!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank myrestaurantreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffe, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fun place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

From good beer to Mexican food you can expect to be happy when you leave. It is located on the Arkansas River's edge and provides a lively atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CCInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“favorite local spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

OK. As a local, I try to support all local businesses and as much as I try to go eat and drink/hangout at other places in town, I always find myself at the Boathouse. Sometimes service is better than others, but what it boils down to is this - The servers and bartenders seem to really enjoy working there and the people they work with. It's nice to go somewhere where this is evident and it's fun to watch and be part of. Sometimes we go just to drink, and sometimes we only eat, and others we eat and drink. No matter what we go there for, we always leave with smiles on our faces and satisfied. Sit by the river, at the bar, outside or wherever, and engage in conversation with the staff and have a great time. We always do. Want a recommendation? Try a drink made with some of their infused spirits, just ask the bartender to make something special- you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank salidatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Boathouse Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing