We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Goat Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Salida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed in the Princeton room over Christmas 2013, which the views were great. The room was very nice and spacious with amenities such as the mini fridge with complementary water. The breakfast had a very generous selections of food items and coffee, teas and espresso. The host was very accommodating and hospitality for a B&B was very warm and inviting.

Room Tip: The Princeton room had great views especially in the morning during sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPag22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

I'm so glad that we could give you a warm, Salida welcome over the Christmas holiday. Thanks for sharing your recommendation and also the holiday with us at Mountain Goat Lodge. It was our pleasure to host you over the holidays and we look forward to seeing you again on a future visit.

All the best,
Gina M., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 327 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

If Old Mac lived in THIS place, he would still be there! The accommodation afforded all the extras one could desire, including those available for our dog. The property includes 20 acres, and the barn and paddock area for the goats, llama, and assortment of chickens was well-kept. Fresh goats' milk and cheese is available, and one couldn't hope for any fresher and more wholesome eggs. My husband enjoyed some with his custom-cooked breakfast. A nice assortment of choices are available to suit individual preferences. The lodge also includes a large enclosed dog area, library, videos, outdoor hot tub (facing the peaks to the west; amazing number of stars at night we can't see near big city lights), treadmill, interesting greenhouse, and the entertainment of observing the antics of the animals. The facility is comfortably furnished and tastefully decorated in a modern western rustic style - I say modern because often "rustic" equates with uncomfortable and Old Seedy, but such is not the case. We also had the opportunity of viewing the other rooms, and we would have been happy in any of them. Even though probably not classified as a "resort," this accommodation provides the amusements and feeling of one, certainly head and shoulders above the traditional B & B or motel. Gina was a congenial and interesting hostess, and she made sure we had everything we needed. The lodge is on the west side of Hwy 285. Approaching from the south, it's about one and half miles past County Road 140; from the north, it's less than a mile south from Road 160. The tall spruce tree next to the road and well-lit sign make finding the lodge easy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sawatch suite, on the NW side of the lodge. It's on the lower floor, has a kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sooie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

I'm glad to hear that everyone (dog included) enjoyed the amenities of our property! It sounds like you were really able to take advantage of the things we offer from the greenhouse to the hot-tub. Thanks so much for taking the time to share you feedback. I hope you'll come back and join us again the next time you head out this way. We really enjoyed hosting you!

Warm regards,
Gina M., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were among the first guests when MGL opened 4 years ago, and we have returned many times. This place just keeps getting better. The majestic view of Mt. Princeton from the hot tub in the back 19 acres always lifts our spirits. Gina tends to her business with passion and attention to detail, from offering a choice of goat, soy or cow milk in your latte, to designating a cat-friendly room for guests. All rooms welcome dogs, as you might expect. Animals are key here. Goats are the main draw--the kids can be cuddled like puppies--and their companion and protector,Pilar the llama, is stately and entertaining. And yes, the eggs served at the hearty and creative breakfasts do come from Gina's chickens. There there's the solar-powered, geodesic-domed greenhouse, where she grows all sorts of greens, fruits, flowers, etc. And there's so much to do and see in both Salida and BV and the surrounding region. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dieLisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

It's so great to hear from our very first guests! We now consider you friends - and even feature your photos on our website. I'm glad that you've been able to soak in our Mt. Princeton view and pet friendly atmosphere on many occasions. Thanks for taking the time to share your praise. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,
Gina M., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Gina is a wonderful host. You feel like a part of her family almost instantly. She makes incredible breakfast and includes her goat milk products (try the goat yogurt). She even kindly accommodated our dietary restrictions. :) Plus, goats!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank moveaboutsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

I'm so glad I could make you feel right at home! I'm always happy to accommodate my guests as best as I can, so thanks so much for sharing your experience and helping to spread the word. I hope you'll come see us again — don't be a stranger!

Warm regards,
Gina M., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We had the wonderful opportunity to stay at the Mountain Goat Lodge last weekend. The accommodations are excellent and the food is absolutely magnificent! We had the opportunity to see Gina's greenhouse from which all of the fresh veggies & fruit are grown. It's a work of art! We also had fun playing with the goats, especially the baby ones. Now this leads me to our dog! He had so much fun! Seriously, I almost forgot I wasn't home! Thank you, Gina, for the food, the company, and the fun! Can't wait to see you again soon!
~Anne D.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank gtagrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

I'm thrilled to hear that we were able to make you (and your pup) feel right at home. I appreciate the sweet compliment about my greenhouse. It really is my little work of art and I'm always excited to share it with others. Thanks so much for staying with us and also for leaving such a glowing recommendation.
Please think of us when you get your new Comphy sheets - I know you will love them!
I hope you'll come back and visit us again someday! Warm regards, Gina M., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We had a wonderful 3 nights at the Mountain Goat Lodge. Gina is friendly and she cooks excellent breakfasts! She introduced all the guests to each other and remembered our names. There were cookies/snacks and tea/coffee available all day. The shared area is comfortable and set up well for conversation. The rooms are large (for a B&B) and airy, with a desk and nice-sized closet area. The bathroom, while not all that special, included all the little things that make a stay more comfortable - like enough towel racks and a place to put toiletries. The owner's and guest's dogs are allowed to roam freely - which was great! I took both the chicken and goat care classes while my husband was skiing. While cold (it was January), the goat care class was very informative and helpful. The lodge's eggs and goat milk are highlighted in the breakfasts. We have stayed at many B & Bs and this is definitely at the top of the lists! We will stay here again if skiing Monarch.

Room Tip: Rooms with SE or NE exposure will be quieter (away from the road). Otherwise, the 4 standard rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deb997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thanks so much for staying with us and also for leaving such a thoughtful review, Deb! I'm delighted to know that you enjoyed everything from the goats to my home cooked breakfasts so much! Thanks, too, for making mention of all the little touches we add to try and make our guests as comfortable as possible. I hope you'll keep us in mind the next time you head this way. -All the best, Gina M., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We booked here because it was pet friendly, it looked good and had good reviews. We have stayed in other pet friendly places before but this is the cleanest and nicest one we have ever stayed at. The rooms are large, clean and well themed, breakfast is amazing and Gina and her staff are super friendly. The property with goats, chickens and dogs is just fun. We will definitely stay here when we come back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. We stayed in a suite that was large and a nice view. Just ask when reserving and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

I'm so happy to hear that your visit was a success. I'm especially glad to hear that you were fond of the rooms and enjoyed our animal-friendly property! Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and also for leaving such a wonderful review, Rick. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you head this way! Best regards, Gina M., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
4.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
11.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#7 of 16 in Salida
241 reviews
19.7 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
207 reviews
12.8 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Goat Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Goat Lodge

Address: 9582 US Highway 285, Salida, CO 81201-9555
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range: $124 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Goat Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Goat Lodge is a log cabin style lodge on 19 mountain-viewed acres. We're conveniently located just 8 miles west of Salida, 20 miles east of Monarch Ski Resort. All rooms have private baths, balconies, mountain views, mini-fridge, HDTV, HBO and DVD players. Free WI-FI, 24 hr available outdoor Hot Tub, full country breakfast served 8am-10am, free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Suites have king beds, other rooms have king or queen beds. Special diets are accommodated. Pets have access to 1/2 acre off leash area, 50X30 outdoor kennel, treats and dog bed with 20.00 Pet fee. Hobby goat dairy on site allows access to milking demonstrations, cheese making classes, goat and chicken raising classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Goat Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing