We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain Goat Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Salida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Aledo, Texas
1 review
“Great Experience”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Goat Mountain Lodge in June 2013. We were completely pleased with our experience and with the attention and hospitality extended. From a bed & breakfast standpoint, the accommodations, meals and attention to our comfort were top-notch. We also came away with lots of useful, practical knowledge on raising and caring for goats, and the production of dairy products. Gina, Darcy and Antoinette made us feel like family during our stay. We had a memorable time and plan to return.

Green Features: Very focused on recycling and eliminating the waste of ANYTHING
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    49
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
64
189
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My dogs and I have never had more fun together than we had at The Mountain Goat Lodge outside of Salida, CO. The breakfast was better than delicious every morning, served when I wanted it! The views are to die for, the hot tub is roomy & available 24/7, the owners are wonderful, and we made friends with all of the other guests and their dogs. I loved seeing the chickens (and eating their fresh eggs), alpacas, llama, and the goats! This bed and breakfast is not to be missed! And do NOT leave the dogs at home!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The room was comfortable and it was nice being able to bring our dog with us. However, we were disappointed by the food and experiences with the owner and staff. Breakfast on the first day was sloppy and nearly inedible which is not surprising soon as the owner told us all it was the first time she had made the meal. The meal on the second day was worse, and my husband who usually takes seconds and thirds ate a small amount to be polite and then pushed his plate away. Although breakfast was supposed to be from 8-10am the meal wasn't served until around 9 on both days. We were made to feel guilty for the delay as if a late breakfast was part of the experience with staying at a B&B - although I have never had that experience before. In addition I was embarrassed for another patron who after misunderstanding a question from the owner was chastised and publicly scorned and later made fun of in front of other clients. Instead of a relaxing get away, we were woken around 6am by the owner’s voice and the jolting noise of the espresso machine. Perhaps wait until closer to breakfast to make espresso? Finally, although we had thrown a washcloth in the bathtub to be replaced and had filled the trashcan, our room "spruce-up" consisted little more than straightening the bed we had already made. Our soggy washcloth and trash were waiting for us when we returned to our room. Overall, we felt as though we were inconveniencing the owner and were putting her out by staying there. I do not recommend Mountain Goat Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayla364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
I am so sorry you didnt like your 2 night stay that you purchased on Living Social. The inn was really busy that weekend and I didn't get a chance to connect with you at all - other than to apologize for not talking to you! I am the only one running the B&B and the goat dairy and it gets pretty hectic at times. You seemed to have a great time chatting with all the other guests so I was happy about that.
We tried a new breakfast item one day, and coupled with your special dietary requirements, it was probably not the best match for you - but we always put out an array of options - breads and jam, rolls,fruit, cereals, juice, smoothies, potatoes, eggs, espresso drinks to order, and even dessert. I am sorry you felt that nothing was to your liking!
The situation with the guest and staff was taken completely out of context - like walking in during the last half of a joke - of course you did not understand what we were laughing about! That happens and I am sorry if you misunderstood the fun we were having in the kitchen!
And lastly, my housekeeper apologizes for leaving your wet washcloth in the bathtub - she was very busy that day as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the Mountain Goat Lodge this past week and really had a blast. You will not be bored at this B&B. There are the incredible resident and guest dogs, which were so much fun to pet and be greeted by. Then, you have all of Gina’s farm animals - the goats, the Alpacas, the miniature horse, all the chickens and Obama the Llama. It’s like a playground for animal-loving people of all ages. The baby goats were simply adorable. You will want to take one home ! Next time we visit, we will participate in Gina’a instructional cheese making class.
It was a ton of fun spending time with other guests and their pets. Gina has created a truly welcoming and relaxed environment for everybody - even the four-legged guests. Her knowledge about the area and her suggestions (ie. dinner recommendations, hiking trails, shopping) were quite helpful. She even went out of her way to introduce us to a friend, for a tour of their Geodome Greenhouse.
Despite all the animals, the B&B is immaculate ! The guest rooms are spacious with private balconies and fabulous mountain views. At the Mountain Goat Inn, breakfasts are a big event. Everything is delicious and made with the freshest ingredients, like eggs from their own chickens. And Gina will make you a made-to-order specialty coffee from a professional Italian espresso machine. Wow ! We liked the flexibility of having the two hour window for breakfast, so we never felt rushed in the morning.
The four legged guests are not forgotten either. They are spoiled with their personal doggie bed, water bowl, dog treats, etc There is even a beautiful large wooded area that’s fenced-in, where dogs can play off-leash. If you travel with your pet, this is the ultimate place to stay. If you have a pet, you owe it to yourself and your pet to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theaustrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We fell in love with everything about Mountain Goat Lodge. Gina and Antoinette are very welcoming, the rooms were cozy, the view was amazing, and breakfast was wonderful. We were able to interact with all of the wonderful animals that live at the lodge during the day and relax in the hot tub in the evening. We felt very at home here and will definitely be returning with our fur baby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Really enjoyed the location, easy to get to Salida & the many things to do in the area. Stayed in the Shavano room and it was very comfy, had lots of space and a great view of the mountains. The hot tub was really nice as were the robes provided to get to and from. Breakfast was delicious and the lattes rivaled any coffee shop (actually better with fresh goat milk). I'm gluten intolerant and my boyfriend is a vegetarian.Both Gina and Antoinette made sure to serve us something super tasty that met our diet restrictions which we really apprecited too!

Green Features: Not only was it great to have animals on the property to interact with and get fresh eggs and milk from but they made efforts to reuse or recycle food and everything else on the premises.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I appreciate your taking the time to write a review about us. Hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittredge, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

With many travels under my belt, along with those of my extensively traveled partner, we both agree that this was the most relaxing and enjoyable-"leave your worries and cares at the door" type stay we've had in a long time. The MGL is wonderful. A beautiful lodge, exquisite scenery and an owner, Gina, that makes you feel like family the second you step through the front door. Our trip to MGL was initiated by the fact that it was marketed to me as a pet friendly B&B. As this is not generally the norm for B&B style getaways I was thrilled to discover this place. It exceeded all of my expectations from the level of pet friendly (large fenced in dog run, treat bag, dog beds/bowls, resident pooches who became fast friends and playmates for our pups), to the on the farm experience that ranged from our interactions with the goats, llamas and alpacas to the farm fresh eggs, homemade yogurt and cheese, to the quality of accommodations-quiet rooms, velvety sheets and a huge hot tub that provided an unforgettable stargazing experience after dark. All of this considered it was actually the small details that really delighted me. Gina playing her piano for us upon request, her Seattle coffee shop worthy espresso machine, the room darkening curtains in the guest room for sleepy mornings and the big comfy chairs in the common area upstairs. The surrounding area has a lot to offer as well. Book a relaxing and rewarding stay with Gina and her goats!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Antero room. Very quiet, at the top of the stairs, wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisanichols20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
4.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
11.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
100 reviews
4.5 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
19.7 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
190 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#6 of 16 in Salida
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Goat Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Goat Lodge

Property: Mountain Goat Lodge
Address: 9582 US Highway 285, Salida, CO 81201-9555
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Goat Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Goat Lodge is a log cabin style lodge on 19 mountain-viewed acres. We're conveniently located just 8 miles west of Salida, 20 miles east of Monarch Ski Resort. All rooms have private baths, balconies, mountain views, mini-fridge, HDTV, HBO and DVD players. Free WI-FI, 24 hr available outdoor Hot Tub, full country breakfast served 8am-10am, free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Suites have king beds, other rooms have king or queen beds. Special diets are accommodated. Pets have access to 1/2 acre off leash area, 50X30 outdoor kennel, treats and dog bed with 20.00 Pet fee. Hobby goat dairy on site allows access to milking demonstrations, cheese making classes, goat and chicken raising classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Goat Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing