We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canine Comforts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Goat Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Salida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Canine Comforts”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Mountain Goat Lodge will certainly be on our list of places to return to. We love to travel with our dog and the MGL truly embraces travelers who happen to bring their canine companions along for the fun.
Gina is truly a hoot! We loved our conversations with her and Antoniette was as nice and cheery as anyone could be preparing breakfast for 12 people. Also want to mention how delicious the Sweet and Salty cappuccino was that Gina prepared for us.
Our room was comfortable, relaxing and had a wonderful view of the surrounding mountains. Be sure to inquire about purchase a set of the micro fiber sheets!! We absolutely loved the comfort of the sheets and were very happy to find out there was a set for purchase from the MGL. We will definitely return to the MGL in the near future!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zephyrco2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    47
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
61
187
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We just got home from staying at Mountain Goat Lodge and are already planning our next visit. The location is not only beautiful but central to many wonderful places to see in the central Colorado Rockies. Gina is a great hostess and very tactful with granting your privacy or including you in the activities of the Lodge. The goats, chickens. llama and dogs are all good company if you wish to make their acquaintance. Breakfasts, in the hands of Antonia, are bountiful and delicious. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Mountain Goat Lodge October 5 & 6th with four other couples (our jeep friends). We had a wonderful time. The Fall beauty was awesome. Lots of nice restaurants in Salida to have dinner. Breakfast each morning at the Mtn Goat Lodge was very good. We will go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
521 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our group was Jeeping in the area the weekend we stayed. We all enjoyed the friendly, laid-back atmosphere, and the delicious breakfasts. Gina and Antionette were wonderful. The dogs, goats, and llama were very entertaining. It was so nice to be able to bring our dog and have him truly be welcomed. He even got his own welcome bag with dog biscuits and a ball! We enjoyed relaxing by the fireplace after we returned from dinner each evening. It was a real "home away from home." We love the Salida area and look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We would definitely visit MGL and Gina again. Rooms were nice, views were outstanding, food was 4 star. We were with a group and Gina made us feel just like we were in our own homes. Bed and linens were super comfortable. The only little thing wrong was a squeaky ceiling fan.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west have the best view of the mountains and are away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We enjoyed it. The service, food, room, and bed were all excellent. The only downside was our room key was attached to a small slice of bark that made it awkward to carry and impossible to put in our wallet or purse.

There was no fitness center or pool but the review insisted on a rating I suggest assigning a n/a rating option for these categories.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have been traveling for the last six months looking for a new place to call home. Salida and Buena Vista were suggested. So in looking for a place to stay with my dog, I stumbled upon the Mountain Goat Lodge. In just a few minutes of arriving, I felt like I was at home with family. Gina introduced me to the others staying in the lodge and showed me around the property. Chloe and I went down to pet the goats while the chickens roamed. The breakfast each morning rivaled the best restaurants and D'Arcy's latte hit the spot. Salida is nice and the people friendly. I have stayed in many places and never hugged the owners when I left. Until now. It's just that kind of place. Don't miss staying here. I will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micarath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
4.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
4.5 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Salida
82 reviews
12.8 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
177 reviews
4.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
5.8 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#6 of 16 in Salida
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Goat Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Goat Lodge

Property: Mountain Goat Lodge
Address: 9582 US Highway 285, Salida, CO 81201-9555
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Goat Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Goat Lodge is a log cabin style lodge on 19 mountain-viewed acres. We're conveniently located just 8 miles west of Salida, 20 miles east of Monarch Ski Resort. All rooms have private baths, balconies, mountain views, mini-fridge, HDTV, HBO and DVD players. Free WI-FI, 24 hr available outdoor Hot Tub, full country breakfast served 8am-10am, free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Suites have king beds, other rooms have king or queen beds. Special diets are accommodated. Pets have access to 1/2 acre off leash area, 50X30 outdoor kennel, treats and dog bed with 20.00 Pet fee. Hobby goat dairy on site allows access to milking demonstrations, cheese making classes, goat and chicken raising classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Mountain Goat Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing