We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun weekend of jeeping and relaxing at the Mountain Goat Lodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Goat Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Salida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Mountain Goat Lodge October 5 & 6th with four other couples (our jeep friends). We had a wonderful time. The Fall beauty was awesome. Lots of nice restaurants in Salida to have dinner. Breakfast each morning at the Mtn Goat Lodge was very good. We will go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 333 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our group was Jeeping in the area the weekend we stayed. We all enjoyed the friendly, laid-back atmosphere, and the delicious breakfasts. Gina and Antionette were wonderful. The dogs, goats, and llama were very entertaining. It was so nice to be able to bring our dog and have him truly be welcomed. He even got his own welcome bag with dog biscuits and a ball! We enjoyed relaxing by the fireplace after we returned from dinner each evening. It was a real "home away from home." We love the Salida area and look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We would definitely visit MGL and Gina again. Rooms were nice, views were outstanding, food was 4 star. We were with a group and Gina made us feel just like we were in our own homes. Bed and linens were super comfortable. The only little thing wrong was a squeaky ceiling fan.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west have the best view of the mountains and are away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We enjoyed it. The service, food, room, and bed were all excellent. The only downside was our room key was attached to a small slice of bark that made it awkward to carry and impossible to put in our wallet or purse.

There was no fitness center or pool but the review insisted on a rating I suggest assigning a n/a rating option for these categories.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have been traveling for the last six months looking for a new place to call home. Salida and Buena Vista were suggested. So in looking for a place to stay with my dog, I stumbled upon the Mountain Goat Lodge. In just a few minutes of arriving, I felt like I was at home with family. Gina introduced me to the others staying in the lodge and showed me around the property. Chloe and I went down to pet the goats while the chickens roamed. The breakfast each morning rivaled the best restaurants and D'Arcy's latte hit the spot. Salida is nice and the people friendly. I have stayed in many places and never hugged the owners when I left. Until now. It's just that kind of place. Don't miss staying here. I will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micarath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Gina, the owner is so nice and accomodating, the rooms and views are breathtaking and the breakfasts are soooo, delicious! I highly recomend this b & b. The goats and chickens are friendly and 2 other families had their dogs with them, which is so nice. Oh, she has 3 fabulous dogs of her own, especially entertaining was her new puppy. Salida is a beautiful small town with good restaurants too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We simply cannot add to the superlatives that others have posted. From the moment of your arrival, Gina and D'Arcy make it clear you are their favorite guests, and Antoinette fortifies you with sumptuous breakfasts. The goats and chickens (and the resident dogs) are both welcoming and fun to be with. There is no other place like it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
4.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
11.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
507 reviews
6 mi away
Tudor Rose Bed & Breakfast and Chalets
19.7 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Goat Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Goat Lodge

Address: 9582 US Highway 285, Salida, CO 81201-9555
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range: $137 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Goat Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Goat Lodge is a log cabin style lodge on 19 mountain-viewed acres. We're conveniently located just 8 miles west of Salida, 20 miles east of Monarch Ski Resort. All rooms have private baths, balconies, mountain views, mini-fridge, HDTV, HBO and DVD players. Free WI-FI, 24 hr available outdoor Hot Tub, full country breakfast served 8am-10am, free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Suites have king beds, other rooms have king or queen beds. Special diets are accommodated. Pets have access to 1/2 acre off leash area, 50X30 outdoor kennel, treats and dog bed with 20.00 Pet fee. Hobby goat dairy on site allows access to milking demonstrations, cheese making classes, goat and chicken raising classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Mountain Goat Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing