We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nick Nolte was there!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Goat Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Salida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nick Nolte was there!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

If this place was good enough for Nick Nolte its good enough for anyone. We had an awesome time. Don't know what radofans was talking about. Room was very clean. No I didnt check our ceiling fan for dust, that is weird. All I know is no dust fell on me when turned on so we were happy. Food rocked_!_! With the help of ms Gina's recipes ms Antoinette rocked out breakfast and ms Sadie is a killer baker in training. There is a button on the front desk that alerts the staff if you need them. Must take the cheese class. So much fun I giggled the whole time. The goats were goats. They made us laugh with their antics. Did I mention breakfast was awesome! On our last day a special one was made for us because we had to leave early. We would come back in a heart beat and will miss the friends we made during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hibyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    47
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
61
187
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

As we drove from Albuquerque to Salida the terrain just got more and more beautiful, until we reached our destination of Mountain Goat Lodge. It was our first vacation with our new pet dog, Oscar. Seeing all of the people and other dogs was exciting, and we were made to feel like family right away. The rooms were amazingly clean and cute. It was fun seeing an authentic working farm, along with the goat milking experience. I wasn't able to take the cheese making class, however it recieved rave reviews from others in the house who did. The town of Salida was friendly, and our overall trip was marvelous. Lots of hiking and other nearby sights, including the BoatHouse where you can watch the kayak's and rafts coming down the Arkansas river, were lots of fun. There is a beautiful riverside walk which we were able to take our Oscar on, an antique store, also dog friendly, and a fair trade art store, dog friendly, as well. And we stopped by a dog treat store where the owner came out to great us and visit us, and give us a few tips on things we could do to train our new dog into a gentleman, so to speak. A plus, is that the goat farm was right next door to a miniature horse ranch, so it was also fun to see the miniature horses as we drove to town. I feel like I could go on and on. Beautiful lodge, great decks to sit out on in the evenings, beautiful views, amazing stars, friendly beyond beyond. Also...lots of chickens...a llama (so cute)...great conversation, beautiful old piano, a beautiful, inpromtu afternoon piano concert, owner Gina was great, Antoinette, breakfast cook, so friendly and sweet. Highly reccomend!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper choose a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nannette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

While the views are lovely and the animals are fun, the rest leaves something to be desired.

The room was far from clean, with a dust covered ceiling fan, dirty toilet and limescaled shower head. The walls are thin and you can hear what goes on in other rooms. It was especially loud in the mornings, with boisterous conversations in the great room at 7am.

The breakfast was disappointing. The food was sub-par, in fact, it was so disappointing that we decided to eat cliff bars from our bag rather than force ourselves to eat the food. Further, the staff made passive-aggressive comments when choosing against eating the main dish. At one point, I made toast and owner remarked to her assistant "See, that's what happens when you put bread out" I have no idea what that meant, but it didn't make me feel like a welcome guest.

The owner might respond suggesting that one can make advance breakfast arrangements - but that's difficult to do when you never see her. Further, on the day we checked in, we mentioned hearing about how great the french toast was and how we hoped to try it. What's more, they seemed to run out of ingredients often. No flour, no soy milk..etc. While I am on that subject - how are whole, goat and soy good milk options? I drink skim, but even a 2% option would be appreciated.

The advertised happy hour and nighty cookies never happened, which was fairly disappointing.

Overall, the stay at Mountain Goat Lodge was a let down. We didn't feel like welcomed guests. If anything, we felt like an inconvenience.

We did enjoy the town of Salida. It is a pretty cool little place. I'd recommend checking out Moonlight pizza, for an awesome lunch special.

We would like to visit Salida again, but we won't be staying at the Mountain Goat lodge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RadoFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountaingoatlodge, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Our quiet hours are listed from 10pm-7am.The rooster crows,the goats make noise, dogs bark. Guests get up, take their dogs outside, come back in for coffee and make conversation. Most of our guests enjoy interacting with each other in the mornings, that's why they come to a B&B. We strive to serve locally sourced food, from the dairy products: homemade Greek-style goat yogurt, milk and cheese from our goats, eggs from our hens, to the bacon and sausages from our local ranchers. We are pleased to offer unlimited professionally made espresso drinks using coffee from our local roaster. The owner cannot always be in the kitchen at all times as she is busy milking dairy goats twice a day and running every aspect of the business. To that end, we employ a helpful and friendly assistant who works extremely hard to please all of the guests. We discontinued happy hour as it was difficult to gather all the guests together at one time in the afternoons so have instead opted to give each guest an $18 bottle of locally produced wine. Our rooms are very clean and we are extremely proud of the product and service we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

If you are looking for a nice place to stay with friendly faces and friendly farm animals...this is the place. I can't say enough good things about the Mountain Goat Lodge. The Lodge is beautiful. Clean and spacious with plenty of privacy if needed. It is close to a main road, but rooms were well insulated and noise was NOT a factor. 19 acres to explore with the cutest goats I have ever seen. If you are traveling with a pet the accommodations are first class. There is a large fenced dog kennel outside and a fenced acre designated for pet owner supervised exercise.

Great breakfast served 8-10am every morning with the best coffee! Starbucks would be jealous. The owner and hostess were gracious and welcoming. We stayed there for a week and everyday was a new experience and a different delicious breakfast. The guests at this lodge were some of the nicest travelers I have ever met. Everyone was great, perhaps it was the enjoyment of finding a nice place to stay with their pets!

I encourage anyone traveling to the Salida/Buena Vista area to give Gina a call and stay at the Mountain Goat Lodge. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Oberhasli Suite has a private entrance that is great if you have pets that may need to go outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GranolaGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkdale AZ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

What a treat, a pet-friendly B&B! We were traveling with two Greyhounds and driving to adopt another. An online search turned up the Mountain Goat Lodge as a pet-friendly spot, and all looked good online. We contacted Gina, the owner, and squared away the details. We took a suite, since we would start with two dogs and end with three. Great choice! Plenty of room for all of us.

First let me say that everything is perfectly neat and clean, unlike many "pet rooms" at hotels we have stayed at. Gina prides herself in having pet guests without showing it in the rooms. She had treats for our two girls, and gave a recommendation for a late dinner at The Fritz...a local restaurant open late (we arrived at 8:30pm) and that allowed pets on the patio. I'll do a follow-up review of them separately.

The food was fantastic. Antoinette prepared great breakfasts both mornings using fresh eggs from the on-site hens, goat yogurt and goat milk lattes too. By the way Gina rescues goats and has a very nice "herd". You are welcome to meet them, and even get a chance to milk them if you are interested.

All of the other guests had dogs also, and here's the truly nice part: not one growl, snark, bark or anything from any of their dogs nor from the three house dogs who live there. Who says you have to live in a kennel to travel with your pal?

There's a fenced-in acre if you want to let your dog run off leash. There's a secure kennel area if you need to "park" one outside. And there's 19 acres you can walk around while your dog is on-leash. Beautiful scenery.

I can't say enough good things about the entire experience of staying here. It's a must if you are in the area and taking your dog(s).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaylorAZ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband and I love B&B's and this was definitely a favorite. We also love animals, so we really enjoyed the dogs, the goats and the chickens. Loved talking to Gina while she milked the goats - and learned a lot. Was full from breakfast all day - so much food and it was all wonderful. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed only one night with my 11 year old son, but wanted more. Great folks, beautiful location- a classic stay.

Accommodated our early-getaway breakfast, food was high quality and perfectly prepared.

We'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmbowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountaingoatlodge, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
It is always fun hosting families and kids. We enjoyed meeting you but it was too brief. Your son is a real gem - we appreciate your kind words and encourage you to come back when you can stay longer and really get "into" the farm life with us! Hope Moab was fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
4.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
4.5 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Salida
85 reviews
11.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
19.7 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
178 reviews
4.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Goat Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Goat Lodge

Property: Mountain Goat Lodge
Address: 9582 US Highway 285, Salida, CO 81201-9555
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Goat Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Goat Lodge is a log cabin style lodge on 19 mountain-viewed acres. We're conveniently located just 8 miles west of Salida, 20 miles east of Monarch Ski Resort. All rooms have private baths, balconies, mountain views, mini-fridge, HDTV, HBO and DVD players. Free WI-FI, 24 hr available outdoor Hot Tub, full country breakfast served 8am-10am, free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Suites have king beds, other rooms have king or queen beds. Special diets are accommodated. Pets have access to 1/2 acre off leash area, 50X30 outdoor kennel, treats and dog bed with 20.00 Pet fee. Hobby goat dairy on site allows access to milking demonstrations, cheese making classes, goat and chicken raising classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Mountain Goat Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing