We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Goat Lodge, Salida, Co.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Goat Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Salida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Dear Gina,
Kathleen & I want to thank you for again providing a wonderful experience for us during our stay in Salida last week. This is the second time we have stayed at Mountain Goat Lodge and the quality of your accommodations and the food and refreshments were just superb on each of our visits. Adding to our enjoyment were your personal graciousness and that of your able assistant Antoinette. We look forward to again taking advantage of your hospitality in the months to come.
Fondest Regards, Jack M. Jackson

Room Tip: All nicely appointed. We prefer suite on north side of facility
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjac9122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Goat Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 324 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

everything the name conjures up; beautiful view of the mountains, cavorting goats in the field and a combination of lodge feel with varnished log staircase, soaring fireplace, plush leather sofas and antiques furniture including a grand piano. The breakfasts were hardy, creative and delicious. The timing couldn't have been better with the late Sept. change - the aspen were turning and the chamisa blanketed the Salida valley with a blaze of yellow. We'll look forward to returning to the "Goat" soon.

Room Tip: we had the Mt. Shavano room which had a glorious view of the same.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Takes dogs! View 4 14ers from the back deck and our room. Wonderful inventive breakfasts. Gina strives to make your stay a pleasure. We have traveled extensively in the US and 14 European nations. Most of our B&B stops were in Europe and most were great fun, just like MGL. It is a bit close to the road so there is some road noise in the front rooms, but that also makes getting out in the winter easier. They have friendly dogs, goats, chickens, and a lama. This is not a pretentious Southern Mansion, but like being a guest in someone’s home. And so many adventures in this Area.

Room Tip: Back rooms should be quieter. We stayed in the suite on the 1st floor. There is some road noise but...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We enjoyed our stay August 25 & 26. The Mt. Princeton room has the most spectacular view of the mountains. We loved sitting out on the small deck. Captured not only some wonderful pictures but some wonderful memories as well.

We had the romantic package which included chocolates, champagne, flowers and chocolate covered strawberries. All was wonderful.

Breakfast each morning was fabulous.

Gina, the place is beautiful and you are a wonderful hostess. Thank you for an enjoyable stay and we look forward to this again very soon.

Room Tip: The drive to the town of Salida is only a 10 minute drive at most. Gina has some wonderful suggesti...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zoe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband & I enjoyed a very comfortable, relaxing weekend with Gina and her goats, dogs, chickens & guests over Labor Day. The lodge lived up to all expectations, all 3 breakfasts were fabulous, cheese making class was great & the hot tub a perfect 104 w/a nice little breeze to enjoy the evening sunset (and the view of the mtns is fabulous). Salida was so much fun to experience again and the Royal Gorge RR offers a nice ride - lots to do in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1 of 2 suites and really enjoyed the extra living space. Other rms were quite spaciou...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We happened to drive by, and stopped in to see if a room was free for that night. So glad we did...Gina made our stay very pleasant. Especially enjoyed the views from the room, the hummingbirds on the deck, and the hot tub. We had an early bike ride planned for the next morning, so Gina got up early to make us a hot breakfast...eggs, potatoes, peach cobbler...even fresh goat milk and yogurt! Yum!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimchihahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Breakfast was delicious as advertised. The rooms were spacious, well furnished and clean. This is a pet friendly environment and can best be appreciated by those with a love for animals. Gina's dogs are friendly and you can spend time as you wish with the goats, chickens and llama. Gina was a great hostess and helped us with information concerning the local sights and restaurants.

Room Tip: Great mountain views from back side of property.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigToad73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
4.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
11.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#5 of 16 in Salida
240 reviews
19.7 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
203 reviews
24.8 mi away
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Goat Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Goat Lodge

Address: 9582 US Highway 285, Salida, CO 81201-9555
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range: $124 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Goat Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Goat Lodge is a log cabin style lodge on 19 mountain-viewed acres. We're conveniently located just 8 miles west of Salida, 20 miles east of Monarch Ski Resort. All rooms have private baths, balconies, mountain views, mini-fridge, HDTV, HBO and DVD players. Free WI-FI, 24 hr available outdoor Hot Tub, full country breakfast served 8am-10am, free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Suites have king beds, other rooms have king or queen beds. Special diets are accommodated. Pets have access to 1/2 acre off leash area, 50X30 outdoor kennel, treats and dog bed with 20.00 Pet fee. Hobby goat dairy on site allows access to milking demonstrations, cheese making classes, goat and chicken raising classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Goat Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing