We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't let the retro exterior fool you”
Review of Gateway Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Lodge
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rifle
Edwards, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't let the retro exterior fool you”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

It's newly redecorated, stylish, clean and comfortable. The owners were wonderful and friendly. One disclaimer: don't count on the free breakfast for any nutrition. Its offerings are pretty weak, but overall stay is a great value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatJahnigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurczaczeksz, General Manager at Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Kat,

We are so grateful for your honest review. We appreciate it very much!
We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our Free Breakfast...We're still working on expanding and we choose a mix of condiments we thought a variety of customers would enjoy: English Muffins, Bagels, Cream Cheese, Cereal, Original Oatmeal, Yogurt, Fresh Fruit and few items for those who have a "sweet tooth" :-)
We hope it's not too much to ask but could you please e-mail us?
We would love to hear your ideas and know what you would like to see on the Breakfast "Menu".
Everyone is different and have different ideas on what a good breakfast should be like ;-)

P.S We will be adding eggs soon! :-)

Again, Thank you and we look forward to have a pleasure of you staying with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    2
    3
    9
See reviews for
7
12
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way through CO for one night. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to give this place a try. One of the owners greeted us and checked us in. She was very welcoming and helpful with finding a place to eat in the area. Our room was a one queen bed room. The room was very clean, roomy, and the bed was comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was satisfying and the coffee good. We will stay here again if we are ever in CO. Support a local, small business and stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zookyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurczaczeksz, General Manager at Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
It means a lot to us and this is why we love what we do so much!
We hope we will see you again in the future :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

After driving across the hot Utah desert, and about an hour into Colorado, I did a motel search on my GPS. I'm so glad the Winchester came up. It is owned and managed by a young couple who are extremely conscious of making their guests feel totally comfortable. Our room was spotless, and nicely updated, including new carpeting. The continental breakfast was very good, and although the breakfast area is small, it has a very comfortable, homey atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurczaczeksz, Manager at Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear James,

Thank you so much for taking time to write this review. We're extremely grateful and appreciate your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to see you here again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Driving along a long stretch of Colorados country side, I came to Rifle, and I spotted the Winchester. This got to be one of the best Motels around. Nice rooms, spotless clean, and you deal with the owner personally. I was not looking for a 5***** place, just a clean room and a shower, and this is exactly what you get here for a reasonable price. My next time in Rifle will be here again. Thanks for your hospitality

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swisschef216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurczaczeksz, General Manager at Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We wanted to apologize for "slight" delay in our response to your review ;-)
Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate it and look forward to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

After our 23-day trip out west I learned that Rifle is supposed to be the best place in the state for elk hunting. If that is why you come to Rifle, you might want a more luxurious place for your pilgrimage. But if you want a place that is reliable, centrally located, fairly priced and - most importantly - well-managed, I strongly recommend the Winchester. Head west two blocks on 5th Street across Railroad Avenue and discover Centennial Park and its wonderful series of walking paths.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Brandt R,

Thank you so much for your review.
Honest opinions and words of appreciation is what keeps us going and improving :-)
We look forward to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We were very satisfied with our stay. The managers were very friendly, the room was surprisingly nice for what we paid, and the breakfast was delicious. It's not your standard dingy, run-down motel. We've stayed in Rifle a few times and this place is definitely the nicest.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurczaczeksz, General Manager at Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear KS,

We're so grateful for your review! We're very happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us, we want to let everyone know once again that we're under new management. It's tough to brake the "spell" once someone else didn't do a good job taking care of the customers but we'll try to do our best to change that and improve the property taking it one step at a time. Thank you and we look forward to see you in the near future! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand junction co
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Antonio and Maricela were great to myself and staff, Thanks a bunch look forward to staying again. Mark Bluhm, Reliable Estate Sales

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rifle
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rifle
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rifle
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 6 in Rifle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Silt - Rifle
15.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Parachute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Lodge

Property: Gateway Lodge
Address: 520 Railroad Ave, Rifle, CO 81650-3548 (Formerly Winchester Motel)
Location: United States > Colorado > Rifle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rifle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Lodge located in the heart of Rifle's historic Downtown area features clean, comfortable rooms at affordable rates. Close to shopping, restaurants, cocktail lounges, and a convenience store across the street. Gateway Lodge puts you at the hub of area attractions. Plus you'll enjoy the quality rooms and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Gateway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing