We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Indoor rooms and baths are not of the same quality as the outdoor pools and grounds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Orvis Hot Springs

Orvis Hot Springs
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ridgway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orvis Hot Springs
Save
You added Orvis Hot Springs to your Saves list
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Indoor rooms and baths are not of the same quality as the outdoor pools and grounds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Orvis Hot Springs is in a beautiful location just at the edge of Ridgway. The largest outdoor soaking area, called “The Pond”, is fantastic and has a private, intimate feel despite its size. The other pools are okay, but not as noteworthy.

However, this review is not for the ponds, but for the lodging. My husband and I stayed in the Iron Room for two nights last year in early September. The best perk for staying at Orvis Hot Springs – either at one of the camp spots or in one of the “B&B style” rooms – is 24 hr access to the hot springs, and I have to say, the 3 am skinny dip on a clear night in “The Pond” was worth the one-time stay. Our experience, though, was soured by the accommodations. The room we stayed in had no air conditioning – only a very noisy floor fan – and was uncomfortably hot. Even with the window and skylight open, the room did not cool down until dawn. (The outside temperature at night was in the low 50s.) The pillows were skimpy and thin. Neither of us slept well. The wood paneling in the two communal bathrooms and indoor soaking tubs was covered in black mold/mildew. After noticing it, neither of us desired to spend much time in those rooms, opting not to shower the second day. By 7 am after our second night, we were ready to leave, enough so that we forewent any morning soaks in the hot springs despite having access to them for the remainder of the day.

Barring a renovation of the bathrooms and the addition of air conditioning in the rooms, our stay at Orvis will likely remain an one-time experience, but honestly I don’t know of too many other places where you can have immediate, near-private overnight access to hot springs. I certainly don’t know of any other hot springs resort (in Colorado) where clothing is optional during the day. So if you are unfazed by mold, can sleep in hot/humid conditions (maybe tent camping is a better option for late spring/summer/early fall?), and are enamored by the idea of watching the stars while you float on your back, naked, in a 4-5 ft deep hot springs pool, then give Orvis Hot Springs’s lodging try. Otherwise, it is worth a day visit.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank moonjest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
17
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We used to go to Orvis quite often when we lived in Western Colorado. We returned in September 2011 and it was just as good as we remembered it. We like it best in the early morning hours before it opens to the public, and in the evenings when the stars are out. During the day when it is crowded, we go up into the mountains. The staff has always been great, and the people we have met (other overnighters like ourselves) are almost always friendly. And the location is spectacular. See you again soon.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms on the south side (away from the pools) because sometimes the smoke from the smoker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randolph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The lithium springs are so very relaxing. We opted to spend the night so had the big "pond" to ourselves after 10 pm, and before 9 am. What a treat to watch the stars while soaking. The shared bathroom is not a big deal at all. Staff is friendly and gave us a tour upon arrival. Our room was just a little warm, so they may benefit from a ceiling fan.

These are healing waters - have one of the locals tell you the stories of ancient indigenous tribes soaking in the springs located here. I'm so glad the pool were not filled with cookie cutter shapes and sizes. Every "body" has a story! We will definitely return when in the are again.

Room Tip: Call early to get the best selection
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I loved every moment of our stay at Orvis Hot Springs. The staff is friendly and go out of their way to accommodate all guests. We were cheerfully greeted, and given a full tour of the facilities. What a lovely way to welcome us! My husband and I stayed in the Uncompahgre room. Loved the decor. The blinds are fabulous- able to open from the bottom or top. We loved the fact that the room was warm enough, in the winter, to keep a window cracked, so that we could fall asleep to the peaceful sounds of the waterfall outside our room! Even though there is not a bathroom in the room, there is a sink, and a nice, big bottle of fresh drinking water. Plus a great mini-fridge. The hotel's attention to detail is divine. There's free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate at all times. The communal kitchen is warm and inviting. Everything is clean and well maintained, throughout the entire property. The pictures on the website don't do the hot springs justice- the grounds are truly lovely. There are great mountain views from different locations. We took full advantage of "clothing optional," and felt absolutely safe and comfortable at all times. We made some great friends, and enjoyed the positive attitudes of all the guests and staff!

Room Tip: Uncompahgre room has a divine king-size bed, and views of the hot springs, as well as the Isis water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank excitedforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Excellent in every way. Staff was super helpful, very friendly and always available. The accommodations were superb. Newly renovated rooms and spaces were fantastic. The fresh four inch snow fall blanketing trees and lawn added the perfect touch. Waters were clean and perfect temperature. All the guests were friendly and quiet...an overall excellent experience. Nice cooking facilities, great towels and bathrobes (could be a bit roomier!) The newly furbished sauna was outstanding. Still wondering if we liked it? We loved it! Will be back.

Room Tip: The furnisnings in each room are unique....suggest you try a different one each time...we were in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gjv43501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

What a great weekend for my wife and I. Entered Orvis with the stress of life and left relaxed, rejuvinated, and not wanting to leave. We will be back. Be sure to stay 2 days because 1 just isn't enough.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runningman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Although I love these hot springs, I will never "camp" there again. My husband and I were looking for an affordable option for our wedding anniversary so we pulled our camper down to Ridgeway to stay for a night. When we arrived the parking lot was packed and we couldn't figure out where the "camping" section was. When my husband went in to ask, the lady working the counter said "in the parking lot by the green fence". He told her there were no spaces available. She basically said "tough". Rough since we had prepaid. We had to wait for someone to move and then we parked the camper in the parking lot... apparently our camping spot. The price of this "camping" was affordable, yes but overpriced for what it was. Customer service also needs a touch up. Next time we will stay in one of their hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Instead of vehicle camping, use their tent camping. This area is nice and neat. If staying in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GunniMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgway
7.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 stars 812 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites
8.6 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
8.6 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orvis Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orvis Hot Springs

Property: Orvis Hot Springs
Address: 1585 County Road 3, Ridgway, CO 81432-9508
Location: United States > Colorado > Ridgway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ridgway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Orvis Hot Springs Hotel Ridgway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing