We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Ridgway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Nice pool and large stone hot tub . Very good service and amenities. Comfortable room with hot tub off of room porch. Wonderful stay for 2 nights. A lot of great outdoor offerings in the area. Allowed us to store our bikes in a safe location. A great place to come back to after a big hike to the peak of Sneffels vis Blue Lakes trail.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    51
    21
    16
    8
See reviews for
34
116
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Chipeta is the nicest place to stay in Ridgway. Great amenities including pool, hot tub, restaurant, roof top deck and spa. Live music on the rooftop on Fridays in summer. Pool area and jacuzzi were very nice and relaxing.

Not the newest resort but it has been taken care of well with some recent renovations to amenities. Rooms are very nice, some come with jacuzzis on the porch. Only complaint is bathroom was surrounded by a wall in our room that didn't go to ceiling so was visually private but sounds (and smells) may escape into rest of the room.

Eco friendly resort keen on recycling uses solar and also swamp coolers in lieu of air conditioning (keeps plenty cool).

Location is great no more than 5 min walk to just about everything in town.

Great place to especially for couples but families will enjoy as we'll for a few days. Good to stay at for a night or for an extended stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverAC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Cannot say enough good things about this property. This place has loads of charm and a great location with amazing views right from our room and balcony. The food was quite good in the dining room and perfect for our needs. Lighter fare was available on the roof deck and was fine, but the deck ambiance made the experience superb. Every room appeared to be unique with great southwestern style. We found our room to be most comfortable and complete, and would not have wanted anything better. We really enjoyed not having a TV or phone in our room and found the great looking pool area to be situated perfectly. Staff was perfect in a very relaxed way. Because of the hotel's layout, we rarely saw other clientele unless at dinner - there are a number of separate public areas where we could have an intimate conversation without being in our room. Ridgway is a small town, but has everything we wanted including some wonderful nearby restaurants and easy access to Ouray, Telluride and fantastic outdoor experiences of all types. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, CO
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Received a wonderful reception & service from Isabelle who showed us around the property. I opted to pay extra for a room with a private balcony hot tub - the Escalante Room. Loved the decor - southwestern-spanish,rustic-classy. Comfortable king bed, but the room was quite small. The hallway & steps to the room were carpeted & somewhat dirty. Didn't like the bathroom - walls didn't go to the ceiling so all bathroom noise was heard in the room. My main complaint was that the hot tub was too hot. Isabelle was quick to respond to our call, but didn't know how to adjust it. She offered to have someone else who could help come to our room, but it was already getting late, and we didn't want another interruption. We paid $40 extra, but didn't get the romantic tub experience that we paid extra for. I mentioned this to another employee when we checked out, but no offer was made to amend. Dinner was very good, with excellent service. This is a lovely property, with very good, friendly service, but I suggest that the rates are too high for Ridgway, expecially considering its proximity to Ouray which has many excellent lodging choices.

Room Tip: Escalante Room was beautiful, with king bed & balcony hot tub, but be aware that the bathroom wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southwestgirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Ridgway is one of the most beautiful places I've ever been in my life, and the Chipeta gives you a perfect view of all of it. The restaurant was great and the solar, salt water pool was very relaxing. The room was cozy and they had everything that you would need. I would definitely recommend the Chipeta and Ridway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I found this place on Groupon. It was perfect for a little weekend get away. The town is quiet, small and hippie. The views from this hotel are breathtaking of the SanJuan mountains to the West and unique range to the South... I forget what they were called but the locals were nice and told me the names of the various mountain peaks and pointed out Courthouse (I think) that was in John Wayne movies. The bar/restauraunt here serves great food but skip the mixed drinks (not so tastey) and stick with wine or beer.
The receptionist gave solid recommendations for other food and bars to try with in walking distance.
The hot tub is very romantic; the views, perfect temperature, great firepit near by for a gentle glow of light. It was a must do every evening.
The rooms are authentic to the area and eclectic. A bit on the small side for space and the beds are a bit worn -sloping in the middle but I had skiied all day so I passed out once my head hit the pillow. I think had I not been active much during the day the bed would have been an issue for me.
I will certainly be looking at this place when I look to stay in this area again. Also the drive to Telluride is about an hour but gorgeous views the whole way which made the time and distance enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kauai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Chipeta Solar Springs is the perfect getaway in summer or winter. The view of the San Juan mountains is unrivaled and the rooms are cozy and extremely comfortable to hang out in -- the excellent mattress was an added bonus. The swimming and soaking was so relaxing after a week of skiing. The staff was professional, courteous and attentive. And the afternoon tea and cookies in the atrium was a nice service.

We had a unit with a full kitchen but didn't bother to cook as the breakfasts and dinners at the Four Corners Cafe are to die for. We ran out of days before we could try all the scrumptious omelets and the dinner entrees prepared with a southwestern flair. I can't say enough about the atmosphere of the dining room -- rustic elegance -- and the expansive views from the sky bar. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgway
9.1 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
878 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites
10.0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
641 reviews
15.8 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
863 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa

Property: Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 304 S Lena St, Ridgway, CO 81432-9337 (Formerly Chipeta Sun Lodge & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ridgway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ridgway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a Southwest Colorado Resort and Spa, your adventure travel and Colorado Staycation destination. This adobe-style Colorado Resort and Spa provides luxury boutique hotel lodging with private hot tubs & patios, summer solar heated Pool, Spa, Yoga & Fitness center, steam room, and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chipeta Sun Lodge And Spa
Chipeta Sun Hotel Ridgway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing