We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views at an amazing park”
Review of Ridgway State Park

Ridgway State Park
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Ridgway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park that has a little bit of everything, from camping and boating to hiking and fishing.
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredible views at an amazing park”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

My family and I went mountain biking yesterday at the Dutch Charlie camping area yesterday and it was the best ride I have been on in a long time. We went in the late afternoon and we saw maybe 5 or 6 other people. They had biking trails for all age ranges and levels. We hit both and while the difficult one was too hard for my youngest, my husband and son had a blast on it! They also have hiking/biking trails that link all 3 camp areas and a trail that goes all the way into Ridgway. We rode around the tent camp site area and are looking forward to going camping there as soon as they open it up! There were some incredible views of the lake with the mountains in the backdrop. The tent sites were well spaced with a few walk-in tent sites as well as drive in kind. They had a fun playground area for the younger kids with a fun slide that went from the playground down to the beach of the swim area. Picnic tables were very well spaced out as well for people coming out just for the day. Ridgway State Park is one of the most beautiful parks I have visited!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoChk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    46
    6
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
WestSlope,CO
Level Contributor
166 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great year round destination”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Our family has visited Ridgway State Park (one of Colorado's newer parks) many times since it was built. It is clean, rarely crowded, and the views are beautiful. We visited this time on a gorgeous 65 degree clear day in mid March, when the lake opens for boating. It's still winter time in the surrounding mountains, but Ridgway State Park is often a great destination when spring fever strikes. A mountain bluebird greeted us near the visitor center!

Even in the winter, the park is a great place for wildlife & bird watching, and the park doesn't usually receive as much snowfall as the surrounding mountain areas, so there are generally some trails open for hiking. If there happens to be too much snow for hiking, there's good terrain for snow shoeing. Some of the yurts are available for winter camping and there are tent and RV sites available year round.

We took the concrete path to one of the 3 fishing piers (wheelchair and stroller accessible!) and then walked in a little further to fish from the bank. Brown trout, rainbow & cutthroat trout, and kokanee are the main game fish, although I've seen reports of smallmouth bass, too.

For the fly fisherman, there's an excellent 1 mile section below the dam in the Uncompahgre River which is catch and release.

The visitor center has some interesting displays and a good selection of books. They even have some kids' fishing poles and tackle for loan, in addition to some children's personal flotation devices and Family Activity Backpacks. In the summer and fall there are numerous ranger programs such as Huck Finn Days, and the stargazing is outstanding. The visitor center overlook offers one of the most beautiful views in the state, IMO, with the lake in the foreground and a backdrop of Mt. Sneffels and the San Juans.

Leashed, controlled dogs are allowed except at the swim beach.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank misspWestSlope_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ridgway - Pa-Co-Puk (commonly known as Cow Creek)”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We visited this park when we still lived in California. This park is clean, has all the hook-ups you need for your RV, the laundry facility is good. A caution, however, is when you are taking a shower in restroom facility, the water can be scalding so watch the kiddos carefully! We now live in Montrose, CO, a short 20-minute drive to this campground, and we still haul our fifth-wheel there to camp. We then become "tourists" once again while we visit Ridgway, Ouray, & Silverton, and fish until the freezer is stocked. You can catch some nice fish in the Uncompahgre, and the kids can fish from the ponds (which is safer), especially during spring run-off. If you have a boat, you are all set at the reservoir.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Fishing, camping, quiet, beautiful and not over developed. A swim beach not for the faint of heart.

Helpful?
Thank ChileQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great camping with an awesome view.”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We spent the weekend here and stayed in a travel trailer. The park is big with lots of campsites. We stayed at the full service campground below the dam. Our main reason for the trip was to visit the towns of Ridgway and Ouray. We love the restaurants and the antique shops, thrift shops and finding old stuff to buy. Ouray is a beautiful mountain town with hot springs and the Box Canyon Falls. You are in mining country with a history of gold and silver mines in the area. The reservoir is big with a marina and jet ski rentals. There is a swim beach located inside the state park also. Lots of wildlife to see, deer, elk, coyotes and bald eagles. The view of the San Juan Mountains is amazing. We plan on coming back next summer for another visit.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kehoe356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ridgway State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing