We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Reservoir and Great Fishing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ridgway State Park

Ridgway State Park
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Ridgway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park that has a little bit of everything, from camping and boating to hiking and fishing.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Reservoir and Great Fishing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Large park and plenty of access to the water and hiking. Beautiful surroundings. Easily spend all day.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MarsOn911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    46
    6
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful but yurts too close to the road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We were looking forward to camping near the reservoir. Unfortunately the yurts are close to the highway so bring your earplugs. The camp area was well cared for and the beach and boating is great. If you have a tent, stay at the pa co chu puk area - shady, quiet, & gorgeous. We won't stay in the yurts again. Way too pricey for traffic noise all night long.

Helpful?
Thank Fushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CO
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“love the park, very accessible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

My family has camped here seven or eight times. We choose this park, while far from our home, because the park has good wheelchair access. We stay in the yurts, and enjoy camping in a setting that allows us to have wheelchair access. We often come mid-week to avoid the crowds. Weekends are very busy.

There is wheelchair accessible fishing and some accessible trails. We often come at the end of July and it is very HOT! October is a great time to enjoy the park. It is not as hot, and the fall colors in the area are wonderful.

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Watch out for Barney Fife and and Sidekick”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Wow, we were looking foward to our first time to Ridgeway State Park. We were new to the lake and our new wave runner. After the inspections and launching we wakelessly traveled out beyound the NO WAKE bouy line that sourrounded the sailboat marina. We increased our speed,producing a wake and were immediately stopped by the water patrol and cited $50 for breaking the law. There is no sinage visible from the boat launch that denotes the entire channel and cove are to be wakeless. So much for a good time. Very rude water patrol officers and guess who won't be going back to Ridgeway State Park. You can keep it and your go to h---- attitude of officer Fife and Sidekick.(MIller)

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Barneyfife1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful State Park!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is a great state park. We stayed at the walk-in tent sites in the Pa-Co-Chu-Puk campground. Our campsite was right along the Uncompahgre River. They provide little wagons to help you carry your camping supplies to the campsites which was convenient. There is a vault toilet near these sites and there is a camper services building not far away with showers. The showers were very nice with separate areas for drying off and then getting dressed. We didn't get to spend a lot of time in the park because we were in the area for the Telluride Bluegrass Festival (it takes an hour to drive to Telluride from here), but I would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a nice campsite.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank mobrie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ridgway State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing