We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rico
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
“We will return.”
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Nice place. We were there just after the Memorial Day weekend opening. The staff were attentive and considerate.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadquis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Telluride is so expensive and very noisy due to all of the idiots who claim they are going to ski but actually just want to drink. The Rico Hotel, on the other hand, is a nice, quiet place to rest after a hard day of real skiing. If your idea of skiing is to ski really hard all day, then rest all night to ski again the next day, then this is the place for you. The rates are great, they have breakfast in the morning and the beds are comfy. The restaurant is pretty good too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powderforage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

This place was once a bunk house for miners. The rooms are as tiny as they come, but are very charming. They are heated by radiators, so we cracked our window at night so we did not roast. A beautiful fireplace greets you as you come in the front door and there is also a nice fire pit in the back. You feel the rustic atmosphere, yet it is very clean. The service is excellent. Derek took great care of us, telling us the best runs at Telluride (based on current weather conditions). He is a character exemplifying this tiny mountain town.

We also had dinner at the Argentine Grille. It has some of the best food you will ever enjoy. Seriously, it is incredible- unbelieveable. Fabulous chef. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landcruiserbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We were so grateful to find the Rico Hotel and have a quality place to stay on our long drive from Flagstaff to Ouray. The Rico hotel offered a very affordable price for the wonderful charm & great location. The best part is both upon arrive late at night, and again first thing in the morning finding a welcoming fire in the old stone fireplace. Cozy sofas, good coffee and amazing views of snowy mountain peaks. We did not partake but hear from other guests that the dinners at the hotel are off the charts - delicious (free range, organic, gourmet!)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlagstaffClimbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2010

First time visiting to Colorado. I was visiting a friend for the weekend. The staff is extremely friendly and very knowledgeable about weather and driving conditions. Food is exceptional. I have never had food as good as the argentine grill. Price of the rooms are very cheap when compared to rooms in telluride. If you are looking to save money and relax you need to try this out

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon85213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2010

The Rico Mountain Lodge was an outstanding place to come to for the New Year's holiday, and a wonderful refuge after a day of ice climbing, backcountry skiing, sledding with the kids, or escaping Telluride. Low key, and amazing service from the staff. Derek had great stories and was really funny, Eamonn was a great down to earth guy who cooked up an outstanding New Year's Eve dinner (better than you will find in T-ride) and the snowboarding friend (didn't get his name) serving breakfast always had a great attitude and made great muffins. The place isn't a hotel, it is an experience, and if you really want to get to know the town locals, these three stars are the main characters. And the other guests were really great, too! Not the largest rooms, but staff accomodated us well.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildernationalDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

It was recommended that we try the restaurant, but we decided to stay the night too (we were bike touring and alternating camping with places with showers). We were there just before the busy season so we had the place practically to ourselves! Although the restaurant was not really open, the chef and manager Eamon served us a delicious "chef's choice" dinner. They also have a really good selection of wines. The dining room decor is fancy log cabin and the evening light though the windows, delightful with the majestic mountain backdrop. Eamon also helped get the heat on in our room and called the cable company when we could not get tv (a dreadful thing to do on vacation: watch tv, but we wanted a movie to fall asleep to). Only complaint was the bed was maybe a bit too soft (which made it hard to get out of in the morning). Rico is a great town, not overrun with LA boutiques like Telluride, a genuine town with lovely people in it. Also it has a great old cemetery and a secret.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank socksnsandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rico
9.6 mi away
Circle K Guest Ranch
Circle K Guest Ranch
#2 of 2 in Dolores
120 reviews
19.3 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
885 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mine Shaft Inn Hotel & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Dunton Hot Springs
Dunton Hot Springs
#1 of 2 in Dolores
240 reviews
12.3 mi away
Cascade Village
Cascade Village
#9 of 21 in Durango
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge

Property: Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge
Address: 124, S. Hwy. 145, P.O. Box 65, Rico, CO 81332
Location: United States > Colorado > Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 night minimum in our Kinnick Suite-99.00 per night-coffee maker in room-great views of surrounding mountains-area renowned restaurant on site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rico Hotel Mountain Rico
Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing