We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
25
17
8
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
17
8
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 54 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've been making an annual pilgrimage from Texas to Rico for many years, first on backpacking trips and now that I am aged, staying in the Rico Hotel. Yes, it's the only hotel in town and it is historic and rustic but it is clean and comfortable. Some of the rooms are smaller than others but the rates are cheap. I think of it as a European-style hotel. The breakfast is way above average for a hotel breakfast. Certainly 80 times better than any of that pre-fab unfood you get at a chain hotel. This hotel has character. One of the great things about it are the people who run it Eamon and Linda. Eamon is the chef in the Argentine Grill and he is terrific. The food there is outstanding. And if you are having a special event or gathering, he can make it very special.

Room Tip: go for a second floor room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyk676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Like a quaint bed and breakfast. Comfy rooms. Manager also an amazing chef for the restaurant next door, Argintine Grill. The included breakfast was glorious! We really enjoyed ourselves and wished we could stay longer.

Room Tip: We took the larger bedroom with two beds just because it is bigger.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CIS325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The third floor Kinnick Suite is spacious, bedroom, living room, full kitchen, bathroom and many closets. The food is excellent! Chef prepared dinners, 4-6pm were only $15. We wanted to try the homemade ice cream but the restaurant was too busy for the one and only server/bartender to get back to our table. Complimentary breakfast consisted of a variety of culinary masterpieces.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CowboyAndTheLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The restaurant is amazing! If you stay here, eating dinner at The Argentine Grill is an absolute must. The filet is to die for.... The rooms are small, but they are cozy and clean, and the sign on the back of the hotel says it was established as a miners bunkhouse in 1925, which adds to the rustic mountain experience. Definitely will come back again, and will recommend both the hotel and restaurant to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The location is great but do not get a room downstairs. The hotel is very old and the floors creak real loud when people are walking. I asked to be moved to a quieter room and he wanted to charge me more to be moved upstairs. The room was hot June 30th so we had to open the windows, no air conditioning, but they also own a restaurant in the hotel that had open windows. It was loud so we could not sleep until 3:00 am or so. The restaurant has great food but I think the owner spends more time with the restaurant being good then the hotel and the comfort of the guests. We had to ask for a fan for the room the second night, twice, but it was still loud. We checked out one night early and the owner said he does not give refunds. We left anyways.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms at the end of the hall away from the restaurant or the living room may be better. Bring earplugs and a portable fan.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews