We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nine years later and still a great food experience!”
Review of Argentine Grill - CLOSED

Argentine Grill
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Chef Eamonn O'Hara brings to the quiet town of Rico -Prospector -his cuisine is contemporary modern American cuisine-with heavy emphasis on local organic meats & produce giving the restaurant a distinctively regional flair.O'Hara has been fortunate to work with some of the worlds top chefs like Wolfgang Puck and Dean Fearing of Mansion on Turtle Creek fame.
Aztec, New Mexico
Level Contributor
142 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nine years later and still a great food experience!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for our 1st anniversary dinner and tonight for our 10th anniversary.

Food was outstanding. We had steak and salmon, both of which was wonderful. The steak was rarer than I normally like, but I enjoyed it anyway due to the great flavor.

Cocktail and wine was also excellent.

Truly love the bisque and gaspacho.

The atmosphere is rustic and can be romantic but some customers can ruin that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    4
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rico, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Argentine Grill has the best food in Rico - it is totally unexpected as this is a very small mountain town with one gas station, a liquor store and a hotel - the Argentine Hotel houses the restaurant. Chef Eammon is absolutely incredible and all the food is prepared at the time you order it. Try the sweet Olathe Corn Bisque - absolutely amazing!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jsmith49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I already mentioned this restaurant in my review of the Rico Hotel but if you are passing through Rico, it is imperative that you stop here and eat! it is delicious. Every summer with great anticipation we look forward to the Olathe Corn Bisque. Heavenly soup. Everything is four star and delicious.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tracyk676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Incredibly fine gourmet food! What a treat! The chef is absolutely top of the line. Beautiful fresh vegetables, top meat and poultry in delicous sauces. Wondeful bread with herbed roasted garlic olive oil to dip. What a pleasant surprise for such an out of the way local!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CIS325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous and then some!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Who would know that in this tiny town of Rico lies probably one of the best restaurants we have ever had the privilege of frequenting! Living in La Jolla in the San Diego area, gives us many amazing restaurant choices. If I could be whisked away from to La Jolla to Rico very quickly, I would choose the Argentine Grill over any restaurant in San Diego!! Yes, that is how absolutely wonderful it is. Four of us had dinner at the AG two nights in a row and both dinners were beyond description. The chicken was the best ever.......the salmon, the best ever, the filet (Colorado beef) melted in your mouth. Although the wine list was small, it was adequate and enough options to pair well with any of the dinners. Dessert: Creme Brulee.....I am a huge fan of Creme Brulee and I have to say, this, too, was the best I've ever had. Need I say more. Hats off to Chef Eeamonn, the sous chef, the wait staff (Heather particularly) and others!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kscaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing