We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of The Redstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Redstone Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Redstone
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to Redstone for a romantic getaway.

1) Redstone, Co: The idyllic town is very small with a fascinating history. It's set on one street along the river, only 1/2 mile long; but there's a few cute shops & a wonderful cafe for lunch or dinner. All homes in Redstone must be kept to certain historic standards & the yards are beautiful. Walk from the Inn and you can find a private road overlooking the rest of the town, that welcomes pedestrian only traffic. The historic fire house & other beautiful homes sit on the on the hill & home owners are happy to share the history.

2) the Inn: The historic Inn is beautiful! There's a small spa, a beautiful outdoor pool & billards room below.
I loved the historic rooms & think they're a charming mix of the original details, with some modern conveniences added. My husband is more of a chain hotel type & thought it was outdated. It was clean, the beds comfortable & the rooms are spacious. Due to the age of the building the walls were a bit thin.
The gourmet restaurant was very good and though pricey, worth it. We ate at the bar the next night & it was very busy. Our waiter was trying to service the dining area & the outdoor dining as well. We could only watch helplessly as my husband's margarita sat on the bar as the ice melted, watering the drink down before I got up & grabbed it. The poor waiter was busting his rump while the bartender just watched the tv behind the bar as drinks piled up. Seems like he could've helped the waiter out a bit... But the food was good, our server apologetic.

Overall, the pace of the town is slow & easy; a good place to unwind, go on some hikes or bike rides. There's a tour of the castle I regret not taking, and stables across the highway for trail rides. I recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugaboos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    54
    31
    15
    7
See reviews for
47
95
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is my second time to the town of Redstone....it is a magical, beautiful, and friendly place. The hotel has a nicely furnished restaurant and bar. It also provides a pool, jacuzzi, and gym. However, the rooms need updating. Only one person could fit in the bathroom and it was run down. But for one night, it was fine. Tip: ask to see your room prior to taking it. There was no air conditioning in the room, too. Having a room over the bar/restaurant would not be pleasant with the noise and smells. The staff there were pleasant and helpful.
There are some B and B's down the road and nice homes to rent. I would suggest that.
The Redstone Inn has tremendous potential. It just needs to address some room renovation issues.

Room Tip: Always ask to see it first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muffyiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I love Redstone and would sleep under the bridge just to be there. Fewer and fewer places in Colorado can give you such a spectacular view of the stars or have that old Colorado feel. I had really high hopes for the Inn (this was our first stay) but sort of get the feeling that it has two personalities. Some of the other reviewers really raved about the place but our experience was just ok. I suspect it was because we had our dog in tow. They have dog friendly rooms (which is great) and we booked one. We arrived late and literally caught the receptionist on her way out the door to go home. She was nice, we signed in and drove around to our room. It was a motel like arrangement. We parked right outside our room. The room faced on to a dirt parking lot which was ok but not particularly scenic. The room itself was big but spartan. Big beds but the finishings were really basic verging on run down. I expected noise from the parking lot in the morning but that wasn't a problem. In any event, the rooms in the main part of the Inn may have more character which is why I suspect that there could be two kinds of experiences. The lobby was certainly appealing and the bar looked fun. We didn't stay long enough to use the pool or other facilities.

You are right on the edge of the "town" and it made for a couple of nice walks, one in the evening and one in the morning. Our interaction with the staff was minimal but they were friendly enough.

I love Redstone and was happy to be there. I also liked having the dog along and the Inn made this easier. However, the room itself was average and the price was on the high end which reflects the lack of alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingColoradans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Town of Redstone is across Crystal River from Hwy 133. Redstone Inn is a charming 100 year old hotel, with well maintained grounds, heated pool, jacuzzi and gym. Approx 75 rooms, library, tennis court, popular bar and restaurant, and formal dining room. Food and service in the bar was very good and food was much better than standard pub food. Wait staff and receptionist were always attentive and helpful. We had a king room on 3rd floor with 1/2 bath and shared bath/shower. Never a problem with shower availability. Room with king was very private with nice views and very comfortable bed.

Redstone is 30 miles South of Glenwood Springs on Hwy 133. Originally built for coalmine workers in 1902 along with the town. Mine has long since closed. The area has stunning scenery, and hiking. Marble (5 miles South) is very interesting (Lincoln memorial stone from the Marble quarry). Take jeep tour to crystal city, or hike. Glenwood Springs has lots of activity including adventure park and mineral hot springs. Aspen is 50mi away on good 4 lane road, well worth a visit, as well as Independence Pass (road to Leadville from Aspen), with crazy bends.

Arrived in town expecting a couple of rundown motels, and was very impressed with RedstoneInn. Extended our stay by 1 day as had such a great time. We will be returning.

Room Tip: get room overlooking garden on East side. West side gets afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bitnibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

quaint historic hotel. Clean and comfortable, expect small rooms. We were there for a wedding so we had 2 breakfasts and a catered dinner. All were delicious. The catered meal was one of the best I have had. Staff was helpfully. Breakfast service on the patio was relatively quick considering the number of guests sitting on the patio.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the Redstone Inn for 4 nights. They upgraded us from a Queen to a King so we would be more comfortable. We don't have a lot of experience staying in "historic" places, and we've always wanted to stay here. Staff was great, bar & grill was good, but the main dining room was a little pricey. There was only one other restaurant in Redstone, so you don't have a lot of choices. The Castle tour was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherylGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Redstone Inn. Our rooms were clean and private. Our dinner in the dining room was surprisingly delicious. This is not a super fancy place.. but a really sweet old hotel, in a beautiful quiet setting. In the evening there was a relaxed feel with families and sweethearts hanging out.

I do agree with the review that says to set your expectations. This is not a high end luxury hotel, but a warm, friendly, historic hotel that will slow you down and charm you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dh91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redstone
16.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale
15.5 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
575 reviews
15.5 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
764 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
791 reviews
22.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 34 in Aspen
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redstone Inn

Property: The Redstone Inn
Address: 82 Redstone Blvd., Redstone, CO 81623-9498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Redstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Redstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Redstone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Redstone Inn is a rustic turn of the century style Rocky Mountain resort in Colorado. When you come upon Redstone,Colorado, you'll find a tiny mountain village hidden surprisingly beneath massive red cliffs.The entire village is on the National Register of Historic Places, and the Redstone offers a unique sanctuary for those looking to get away. Open 365 days a year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Redstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redstone Hotel Redstone
The Hotel Redstone
The Redstone Inn Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing