We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid!! Ruined trip!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Redstone Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Redstone Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Redstone
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid!! Ruined trip!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

When I went to this hotel I expected to have a good time. The pictures looked good on the stickley suite so we choose that room. We got to the hotel at about 8:30pm and it seemed no one was there. No service at the front desk except a weird janitor. There was a key for us on the front desk with a note. First of all no one was at the desk to help us out. The note said our room had plumbing problems and we got downsized to the veranda suite. I was soooo disappointed because I read reviews that said the room was nasty which it was. They at least could have called us ahead of time. It took us a long time to get to our room and when we got in and a smell stenched the room. There was old office cieling from the 50s. Really everything was old. The wallpaper was coming off. We checked the shower and at the bottom by the drain a big black mark of mold of some kind was there! Ewww! The tv didn't even work. The whole night was not enjoyable! I got up and went to the front desk and asked if they checked the room before hand. They said it was all fine. Well it wasn't. We didn't get the nice room we wanted with no notice. We got a refund and searched Carbondale for another hotel. Ill joke about this forever! The travel channel show "Hotel Impossible" really needs to come here! I recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jojodalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcherie, Front Office Manager at The Redstone Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are extremely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts.
Our front desk is staffed during the week until 8pm in the off-season. The packet that was waiting on the front desk had keys and directions to your room. Our Night Security staff are trained to take care of any complaints and would have been happy to escort you to your Veranda room. We are in the process of remodeling and upgrading our historic rooms-just a few of the things happening are new sinks and tile in the bathrooms as well as a new coat of paint throughout the Inn. We are in the process of installing new flat screen tv’s with dvd players in each of the guest rooms. We apologize that there was a problem with the new tv that was put in that room prior to your arrival.
Again, we are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that your room was not to your liking. We appreciate all of your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    50
    30
    15
    7
See reviews for
41
92
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buena Vista, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We are annual guests at the Inn in winter. We go for the snow and quiet of the forest, and the Inn is just the right place to spend our indoor time as well. If you like old country inns, you will love the Redstone Inn and the local history. There are many different rooms to choose from in the old building all with full bath, and small suites, each is unique. You can also choose a dormer room with a half bath, or a large room in the new wing. And there is one, two-bedroom chalet, by the river, too. Usually we stay in the old building. The rooms are smaller, with minimal furniture, as are the baths, but the beds are new as are the bed linens, pillows, and the perfect down comforters. On the main floor are a full-service bar and grill room open for lunch and dinner, and the formal restaurant which is only open in high season and holidays. Check with the desk about breakfast. There are also public areas such as the library behind the lobby fireplace, and the Fireside Room, with the main fireplace, to sit and read or to visit with friends. Outdoors are a pool and separate hot tub, and also an exercise facility. The Inn provides a great get-away in winter, and this year our party of two couples were the only guests for our mid-week stay. We enjoy walking in town and snowshoeing along the Crystal River, and returning to a pot of hot tea in the Grill Room. Be aware that the village of Redstone is mostly closed in mid-week winter, but Carbondale, Aspen, and Glenwood Springs are close if you feel the need for more civilization. Also, tours of the Redstone Castle may be arranged; check with the desk. In summer hiking is all around and all the summer activities in Colorado are close by, and a visit Marble can make an interesting afternoon. Do check out the Ponderosa Pine trees, on the east side of the village among which are the largest specimens I have ever see. And, we always find the service to be friendly and impeccable at the Redstone Inn.

Room Tip: If the Inn is not fully booked, you may be able to tour the roooms on arrival, and choose the one yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt33332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came here for a quick weekend getaway and it was just what we needed. We love the antique furnishings and cozy bed. Our room was large with a small bathroom and forest views. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 007CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were lucky to catch the Colorado Colors at their peak this last week of September.The Redstone Inn was a perfect central location, close to McClure Pass, Paonia---lots of wineries and pick your own orchards here,
Carbonddale, Glenwood Springs and Aspen. We managed to catch the leaves in all of those places and they were truly lovely.
Our room was small(the last available as we made last minute plans) but still cozy with a comfortable bed. crisp linens,high end shampoo etc. There was a TV with a large number of channels available. The Inn itself is an imposing presence in a little town that time forgot. There are many cozy spots for sitting and relaxing both inside and out and large fireplaces that I am sure add ambiance in cooler weather. The pool was still open and warm enough. There is also a workout room with more than adequate equipment.
We had dinner and breakfast in the Grill and both were generous and delicious. Coffee is available for early risers at 6:30AM, a nice touch since walking the town at that time is a serene experience. I happened upon a group of foraging deer and could walk down the middle of the street admiring all of the homes and cottages decked out for autumn. I once visited the Redstone Inn the day after Thanksgiving. This is a special time as in the evening there is a bonfire on the lawn, caroling and all of the shops are open to welcome guests. I highly recommend the Inn at any time but on that night it is at its most magical.

Room Tip: Be sure to visit Carbondale for its up and coming art scene. Have dinner at Six89 excellent food in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLovers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Travelling through the area to see the fall colors, I decided a little stop at an out of the way place would be just the ticket. The hotel staff was courteous and helpful. The rooms were a sparse but the beds comfortable. The bathroom was clean. There are definately some signs of wear on the place.
For dinner, I went to the bar-which you can have the bar menu or the restaurant menu. I had a salad and filet mignon. Both were excellent and the bartender/server was excellent!
They have wireless internet but it is sloooow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countrydoc425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We drove 5 1/2 hours to get to The Redstone Inn in anticipation of a quiet, relaxing stay surrounded by beautiful scenery. For $203 all we got was the scenery. There was a wedding on the grounds that started at 3:00 pm. By 8:00 pm the DJ had the music and the bass cranked up so loud that reading a book in the room was nearly impossible, much less trying to sleep. I called the front desk to ask that the music be turned down. Their answer.."I don't think I can do that." And they didn't. It went on and on with wedding guests screaming along to the "music" until late into the night. The management and staff of the Redstone Inn clearly have complete and total disregard for ALL of their guests. They did not care that our experience was HORRIBLE, that we were subjected to a sleepless night or that we will never return or recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've stayed at other historic inns, this is one of the best. The Redstone oozes with historic charm, and it does so WITHOUT being run down and musty. The front desk clerks were friendly and professional. Everything with our reservation (made on-line) was in order when we arrived. Our room was delightful - it was one of the Landmark rooms and so was spacious and had a private bath. It was immaculately clean and was serviced nicely while we were out. The furniture was really cool - in our room and elsewhere in the inn - old but with the beautiful character and craftmanship of tongue-&-grove construction, hand planing, etc. (My husband is into that kind of thing.) Comfortable bed although the frame did squeak a little. Nice bed linens, bath towels and complimentary toiletries. Bathroom is very small with inconsistent water pressure, but ... hey! The place is old! It's worth the trade-off! The vintage sink was neat. We reported a malfunctioning shower head when we went down for breakfast. The maintenance man arrived shortly after we came back from eating, before we headed out for the day, and got it fixed immediately. We look forward to staying here again. Be sure to eat at the dining room for dinner (fantastic!) and stroll up and down the main street of Redstone.

Room Tip: The Landmark "Honeymoon" room is above the bar/grill, with the hot tub outside nearby. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABbcsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redstone
16.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale
16.2 mi away
Days Inn Carbondale
Days Inn Carbondale
#2 of 2 in Carbondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
24.3 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
17.1 mi away
Aspenalt Lodge
Aspenalt Lodge
#2 of 2 in Basalt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redstone Inn

Property: The Redstone Inn
Address: 82 Redstone Blvd., Redstone, CO 81623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Redstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Redstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Redstone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Redstone Inn is a rustic turn of the century style Rocky Mountain resort in Colorado. When you come upon Redstone,Colorado, you'll find a tiny mountain village hidden surprisingly beneath massive red cliffs.The entire village is on the National Register of Historic Places, and the Redstone offers a unique sanctuary for those looking to get away. Open 365 days a year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Redstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redstone Hotel Redstone
The Hotel Redstone
The Redstone Inn Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing