We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of History, Mystery, and Fun!”
Review of Redstone Castle

Redstone Castle
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Redstone
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Redstone Castle, a turn of the century jewel completed in 1902 for industrialist and coal magnate John Cleveland Osgood. At the time, Osgood was one of the wealthiest people in the United States, purportedly ranking sixth. It is also known as Cleveholm Manor, its original name. The Castle anchors the mountain hamlet of Redstone, in the magnificent Crystal River Valley still dominated by beautiful, wide-open spaces and undisturbed nature. Placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1971, the Castle provides a unique glimpse into the personal styles and social culture of America’s elite at the turn of the 20th Century.
Parker, CO
Level 6 Contributor
494 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“A slice of History, Mystery, and Fun!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

First of all, you must buy your tickets in town - several choices, and you cannot drive to the castle until the gate is opened (about 20 min prior = 110pm). Tours only once a day @ 130pm.
,
The road to the castle is not well marked, but lies through the first parking lot of the Redstone Inn....just after the bridge (don't pass the Inn). It was raining the day we went, and the road can be a bit perilous.....but isn't too long.

The 'castle' isn't that impressive from the outside, but quite lovely once you enter. I liked that the gal giving the tour allowed you to free-roam the halls and rooms, but did give great information and stories about the castle history.

I believe the hope of the towns people is that it will be restored as a B&B again....we shall see!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTvlerParker_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    20
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Redstone Castle”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our tour guide was the best! Very knowledgeable, entertaining, interesting. The property itself is still in need of repair/restoration, but does give a good look at the past. Beautiful drive getting there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Long Live the Coal Barons...”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The tour of the Redstone Castle was excellently led by our history buff. She was able to detail the history of the house and various owners as we went from one unusual and beautiful room to another. Everyone who was anybody from the wealthiest persons of the day to the political power players stayed here in the early 1900's.

Come and touch where only the 'finest' people were invited to stay......in the fantastic Colorado mountain community of Redstone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Docent Recreates Era”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

What a wonderful 1 1/2 hour piece of history. Our docent knew her stuff with 17 years experience. She brought the history to life in an awesome setting of scenery we all dream of. As another review says, this is off the beaten path and well worth the effort to seek out. While on your way, visit some of the unusual shops and a fun restaurant with homemade desserts that you will savor.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ricki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Redstone Castle Near Aspen in the Rockies -- Once and Future Hotel”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed in Redstone Castle, not far from Aspen, in the mid-1990s (not August 2013) while a Colorado resident on the Front Range, as a special occasion B&B treat in summer and winter with my ex-husband in the early years of our marriage.

Stately, elegant, filled with antiques, oriental carpets, sumptuous paintings and finishes, and still retaining its original carriage entrance, it was built by the "coke baron" of the United States in the early 1900s near the ruins of a series of coke ovens.

We dined sumptuously and the service was impeccable. In summer we hiked area aspen forests and fields, and shopped downtown Redstone's art scene. In winter we enjoyed the Castle's festive decorations, huge tree and sleigh rides. One of the rooms we stayed in had its own hostess balcony (where the lady of the mansion would peek down at her guests before making her entrance).

We vowed to return there every year on our anniversary, it was so gorgeous.

The Castle changed ownership in 2000 and then survived embroilment in a national financial scandal. Its current owner, an investor part-time of Aspen, plans reopen the property as a luxury resort and spa. If this succeeds, I hope its historical qualities and authenticity are retained.

As a hotel or tour guest, I look forward to visiting Redstone Castle again as its vivid memories have stayed with me for 20 years.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redstone Castle also viewed

 

Been to Redstone Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing