We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for all ages”

Sangre de Cristo Arts & Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 36 things to do in Pueblo
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Something for all ages”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I spent the morning in the Buell Children's Museum with my 4 year old grandson. He and I both had a great time. There was lots to do and the staff were wonderful. Oh and the price CANNOT be beat!! The same "sticker" from the morning also provided me admission into the more adult section of the museum that afternoon. Thoroughly enjoyed the Strings & Sculpture exhibit!! I managed to be there for one of the live performances...it was great! The art galleries were wonderful. Mostly regional art...and beautiful, amazing regional art at that. It was a very enjoyable afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RetaginTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    17
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum and OUTSTANDING children's museum”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Everything! We had a knowledgeable docent who made the art come alive. My grandkids thought the children's museum was terrific.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoHi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth the trip/stop on your drive through Colorado”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Buell Children's Art Museum is not so much a "museum" but a 2-story hands-on craft/art/explore/play/learn center. Themes change throughout the year, but there is always a large-manipulative play area, a dress-up area, a book-nook for reading, an interactive sound exhibit, at least one science-art task/craft, a roly-poly area for younger kids, a free-style creation area, and a steel ball maze.

We live in Colorado Springs and regularly make the half-hour drive down to Pueblo JUST for this museum. It's closer than going to Denver, MUCH less crowded than the Denver children's museum, and only $4!

There's a cafe on site that's inexpensive and tasty, though not especially quick. If you're interested in visiting the Sangre de Cristo Art Museum next door (admission included for Buell visitors), the docents are helpful to suggest current exhibits that might interest children.

The museum complex is just off I-25, and a great place to stop for a few hours--let the kids stretch their legs (and minds!) on a long drive. This museum is especially appropriate for Pre-K through early elementary ages, although my teenager has come with us and enjoyed himself, too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank needagetawaysoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
496 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Pretty Impressive Art Center for Small City”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went to Sangre de Cristo Arts & Conference Center
to see show for local artists. We were very impressed with museum and galleries. Three story structure with a lot of wonderful art displayed in a most attractive setting. Really is a great venue for art shoes and other similiar events. Parking is adjacent. Easy access to interstate and downtown Pueblo.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A wonderful art museum”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Spent quite a while here looking at all the fine art. Children's museum was closed. Need I say more?

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhotogChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sangre de Cristo Arts & Conference Center also viewed

 

Been to Sangre de Cristo Arts & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing