We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely nachos and great drinks”
Review of Heathcote Hotel

Heathcote Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heathcote Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Heathcote B&B and Inns
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely nachos and great drinks”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a really nice meal from the bistro and sat in comfortable seating on lounges . we noticed seating outdoors with a tv screen too and comfortable shaded tables and chairs . lovely bar and bistro staff did not sleep but saw the room score a trip later in the year Look clean and comfortable

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanniemac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My research revealed few satisfactory low-cost accommodation options around the shire and I was happy with my decision to book this place to stay for a couple of nights while I was visiting the Royal National Park. The accommodation units are basic motel-style rooms at the rear of the hotel; clean, modern and comfortable. My stay included a busy Friday night with a band playing but it had little impact on me. The hotel bars and bistro could do with some serious upgrading but the staff were all very friendly and effective. I ate in the hotel bistro the first night, which was OK. The hotel is not open for breakfast. There seems to be few other choices for eating in Heathcote. The second night I went up to Engadine where it's a bit better.

Room Tip: Ask for Unit #7, which is at the far end and thus least affected by noise that may eminate from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I wouldn't recommend this place on a weekend night. The night we stayed had a band playing and the noise was horrendous!! The bistro was jammed packed and we ended up going across the road to a quaint little sandstone cottage called Bottle Forest that served a delicious meal without the noise.

The room was clean and well appointed, extra blankets were a bonus and had it not of been for the pub it would have been a delightful stay. Bathroom was clean and well appointed. No signs of mould or soap scum in the shower. Flat screen TV and a comfortable bed rounded out the adequate sized room. I'd recommend it to anyone wanting a brief stop but avoid weekends. They are so noisy and the car park gets crowded with cars coming and going till all hours or so it seems. You have to go into the Pub to check in and out however they don't open till late morning so it's hard to hand in your key. We left ours at the door and hoped they got it.

There is no breakfast as the Bistro nor Pub doesn't open until 10am so we trooped across the road once again to the cottage where we had dinner the night before. After a delicious breakfast of Eggs Benedict, coffee and hash browns it was back on the road again.

I'd eat in the restaurant on the other side of the highway especially if you happen to be there on a weekend night and didn't want to listen to the screeching and wailing of a band. This place is not for the light sleeper so take some earplugs especially if you are there on a weekend. You're going to need them! Oh and be prepared for a long wait at the bistro or do what we did and go across the road to the cottage.

Room Tip: Book the room furtherest away from the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaarakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had one nights stay going down the coast and this was the closest we wanted to get to Sydney, without being in Sydney.

Rooms have been done up nicely, all new and very clean. Put many others to shame. Went had a nice meal in the bistro too. Great value for money and would definilty stop there again.

Only complaint was the gardeners started mowing and using their blower vac at 6.30am!!! Too bad if the guests wanted to sleep in. Also went to hand in key for check out and pub wasn't open, so didn't know what to do and just left key in hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed here last night, an overnight on my way down the south coast. I had driven past the hotel many times, and the description on the website sounded promising. The room are adjacent to the Heathcote hotel (pub) which is nicely renovated. The rooms are located at the rear of the hotel and from the outside look like holiday shacks from the 1970's - however once you open the door the rooms have all been very-recently renovated and very stylish. I was in room 7 which had a double and a single, good quality bed linen, (and spare blankets) the bathroom was modern and spotlessly clean.The towels were good quality and nice and thick.

When I checked in (at the bar) I was told that the hot water might take a while as there was only one line, but I found no problem, great pressure and nice hot water. There was a small table and only one chair so not a place for too many people to spend too much time, but as an overnight stop it was perfect.

The room had a small flatscreen TV and a fridge and room for the suitcase and hanging room for clothes. Being a Wednesday night the pub shut at 10.00pm and didn't hear any noise etc, from the patrons, Parking is available outside the rooms.

The hotel has a bistro and I enjoyed a nice meal and a drink, so easy when you just walk back to your room.

A real surprise just on the southern outskirts of Sydney.

Room Tip: Room 7 is the farthest away from the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jodi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heathcote
12.1 mi away
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
#1 of 1 in Brighton le Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
6.5 mi away
Metro Hotel Miranda
Metro Hotel Miranda
#1 of 1 in Miranda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
8.6 mi away
Eventhouse Cronulla
Eventhouse Cronulla
#1 of 2 in Cronulla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Engadine Motor Inn
Engadine Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Engadine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lucas Heights Motel
Lucas Heights Motel
#1 of 1 in Lucas Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
8.4 mi away
Cronulla Motor Inn Hotel
Cronulla Motor Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cronulla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathcote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathcote Hotel

Property: Heathcote Hotel
Address: Cnr Veno Street & The Princes Hwy, Heathcote, New South Wales 2233, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Heathcote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heathcote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heathcote Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heathcote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing