We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful find!”
Review of Poncha Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Poncha Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poncha Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poncha Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We did come to the motel because of the reviews. At first glance when we pulled in from the highway we were not sure about the hotel. It looked small. However, within moments we realized that this was going to be a lovely stop. The landscaping is nicely done. The patio is a little oasis and a pleasure after a long road trip. The room we had was clean and charming. The owner is terrific and we felt welcomed and our comfort her priority. We absolutely will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Owner at Poncha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

thank you for your review. Yes from the highway it is a little deceiving and then you pull in and see there is a back area and then there's the really hidden secret (the courtyard,the outdoor living space for our guest)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 131 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a delightful stay at the poncha lodge. The woodsy room was charming and the innkeeper was wonderful. The patio out back is completely underrated- it 's LOVELY. We got our dinner to go and brought it back to enjoy on the cute tables and stonework. Our toddler cruised around and explored the trees, tons of flowers and decorations while we enjoyed our wine by the waterfall. It was perfect. We just loved the honeymoon feel of it.

Room Tip: We didn't have it, but it seemed like the room on the end might be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank This M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Owner at Poncha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and felt that honeymoon feel because we have actually had one Wedding and two Wedding receptions this summer. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at Poncha Lodge May 19-22 and it was great! The room was very nice and clean, and the courtyard was beautiful, with trees, flowers, waterfall, birds, creek and fire pit. Teresa and Deward were so friendly and informative. The scenery all around the Lodge is gorgeous with huge green mountains on one side and snow capped mountains on the other. The location is great for anything you want to do, such as rafting, jeep touring, dining and shopping.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankL399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Owner at Poncha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come again. There is so much to do here and for all seasons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

From here it is a 15 min trip to the Monarch Ski Area. Teresa was friendly and accommodating an. There were fresh cookies in the office when we arrived.There is a very small stream that runs through the property. If it would have been summer and I were 10 yrs old, I would have found a way to get wet. I would recommend it to anyone skiing or fishing in the area. A good oriental restaurant next door.
Lance

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lance O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Owner at Poncha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

thank you for your review. We sure had a wonderful ski season at Monarch and there are great trails for snowmobiling. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My 12 year old son and I stayed here on our Spring Break trip to the area. Staying at the Poncha Lodge was exactly what we were looking for; clean and unique. It's a super clean and straightforward place with just enough eccentric decorative touches to bring a smile to your face. Teresa has done a fantastic job. Staying there feels a bit like you're visiting a friend's house. I loved the hot tub; it was clean and the lighting, hot tub room, etc was all great. The outdoor lounge area was very nice, I imagine it would be very enjoyable on warmer days. Teresa was readily available, open to suggestions and genuinely cared about our entire trip not just our stay at her lodge. I will definitely give her a call the next time we head that way. It's a short jaunt back to Salida for eating and shopping, and there's even a good little Thai restaurant nearly next door (Thai Mini Cafe) in Poncha. This is an older property but has been very well maintained. It offers just enough Colorado quirkiness and plenty of room and comfort to enjoy yourself.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank amie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Owner at Poncha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We have enjoyed creating a unique atmosphere in our rooms and in the court yard. Hope you will come see us this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Teresa the owner was very accommodating for my late arrival. I felt very comfortable and it had everything I needed. Close to monarch ski resort I would recommend this place to anyone traveling through.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren1329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Owner at Poncha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I hope you will come stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Clean, Quite, Affordable. My wife and I stayed there recently during our anniversary while skiing at Monarch Mountain. The owners Teresa and her husband were amazing. They recommended places for my wife and myself to eat, recommended local attractions, and even arranged for some flowers for my wife. My wife loved the area and we will stay there again when we get the chance. A great little place for a weekend getaway or a night on the road and easy access to the mountains and local attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms are ground floor so easy access. Rooms are fairly close together but noise was still minimal d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sapper82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Owner at Poncha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing Poncha Lodge for your Anniversary weekend getaway. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to see how much there is to do in our quaint scenic area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poncha Springs
3.6 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
11.9 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
113 reviews
3.5 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Salida
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
512 reviews
15.5 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poncha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poncha Lodge

Address: 10520 Hwy 50 W. at Junction of US 50 and US 285, Poncha Springs, CO 81242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Poncha Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poncha Springs
Price Range: $50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teresa Dunlap is the new owner of Poncha Lodge as of November 2012. The Lodge is conveniently located at the junction of Highway 50 & 285 in Poncha Springs, Colorado, just minutes away from beautiful, historic downtown Salida and 15 miles from Monarch Ski area. Other outdoor activities available in the area are kayaking, rafting, fishing, "jeeping," hiking, camping, jeeping, snowmobiling and golfing & much more. Cable--Flatscreen TV and Wi-Fi are offered in 13 clean comfortable Cabin Style rooms at affordable prices. Rooms are smoke free. Great backyard with grills & picnic area.We recently put a new therapeutic hot tub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poncha Hotel Poncha Springs
Poncha Hotel Springs
Poncha Motel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing