We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new location.”
Review of Los Girasoles

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Los Girasoles
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great new location.”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is a family owned Mexican place with friendly service and a good variety in the menu. All of the standards are available, along with some nice sea food items--like the shrimp in a creamed sauce. The prices are reasonable, the guantity good, and the quality consistent. The Cadillac Margarita is especially good.

Helpful?
Thank ColoradoWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food in Buena Vista”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Finally good Mexican food in Buena Vista. Warm chips, home made salsa, decent portions, but not too large or cheesy. Easy to find right on Hwy 24.

Decor is that of an old diner, so pretty dated..

Service was friendly and attentive.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank RachaelDenverCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pretty good mex”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is a small restaurant attached to a gas station near Poncha Springs on hiway 50. It's pretty basic, and is similar to many Mexican restaurants: large helpings, lots of melted cheese, iceberg lettuce and refried beans. I generally order Chile rellenos to test whether the food is good or not at such a restaurant, and theirs was pretty good. Sevice is quick and friendly. Would like to see bigger portions of guac, but for some reason every Mex rest. on the planet thinks a half golfball sized dollop of mashed avo is enuff...it ain't! Oh well, watcha gonna do?*

*actually, Illegal Pete's in Denver gives you a pretty big scoop of guac, but it seems to get smaller each year!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RancherRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food and lots of it”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stopped in here on a Saturday for a late breakfast. We were at a garage sale and asked who serves breakfast. This place was recommended. Good idea. The restaurant name means Sunflowers. The furniture reflects this theme. Our waitress was friendly and efficient. We ordered our meals and the food arrived fairly fast. It was good, not OMG good, but still good. There was so much food that we should have shared because we both ended up with to-go boxes. I understanding that this restaurant will moving to another location in the future. So if you stop by looking for it, it may have moved. Not out of business, just at a more popular location.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosementko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awesome Mexican food!!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We all really enjoyed our dinners of a variety of traditional Mexican entrees and I loved the bufferfly shrimp cooked in a light garlic butter sauce. The grilled mushrooms and tomatoes served with the shrimp were amazing. We'd definitely return again if in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sea2Mountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Girasoles also viewed

 
Poncha Springs, CO
Poncha Springs, CO
 

Been to Los Girasoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing