We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Exmoor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2010

This is the latest of many visits to Irene and Peter's farm and from the time we first visited them we have always had a warm welcome and a tray containing a cream tea to greet us. Nothing is too much trouble and we could guarantee that the wood burning stove was made up in our absence to ensure the accommodation was warm when we returned each evening.

The rooms were large and very comfortable and everywhere was maintained in a very clean condition. The beds too were spotless and extremely comfortable.

Although the farm is in an isolated spot there is good access to a number of locations along the Somerset coast from Ilfracombe to Minehead and to towns such as Taunton, Tiverton, Barnstaple, and Bridgewater but be prepared to travel a good distance to get to some . Closer to home there are a number of delightful villages with excellent tea rooms and restaurants which we would recommend. What we really visit the area for is the moor itself with the wildlife it contains and to see the wild exmoor ponies in their natural surroundings. There is even a pony centre where some of the wild ponies are trained before being transferred to new homes.

This is one of those places where we return year after year without becoming bored - note - we have already booked for next year

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 286 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2010

It’s a pity we only had a long weekend to enjoy the beauty and comfort of this quiet location. Arriving on a misty wet day, the roaring fire and fresh scones and jam made us feel instantly at home. The farm is in a spectacular location with views of moors and fields, with plenty of walks right on the doorstep. Our 2 yr old son was in heaven with a stable load of ride on toys at his disposal as well as the play area with great views. All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending West Hollowcombe, and hope to return as soon as we can. Thanks Peter & Irene for a lovely few days.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bristol_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

When arriving at West Hollowcombe we found the standards of the accomodation very high and the fresh scones, jam and cream a great treat. The personal service we experienced was second to none. The owners were always happy to do whatever they could for us (including lending us welly boots that had been forgoten). They were chatty and interested in how we were getting along.
The veiws from our holiday home were amazing and the walks around the area were very enjoyable.
All in all I don't feel that a better location could have been found for our holiday. I would love to go back to West Hollowcombe again and I would happily recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissBCaldicot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

This was our forth trip to West Hollowcombe, and each time it gets better and better. The accomodation and welcome was as always superb. Peter and Irene always make you feel, as though nothing is to much trouble, and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

There is so much wonderul scenery to see, and so many places to visit. The children love "the upside down cottage", the play area helps them burn off any energy left, after Tarr Steps.

Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

What a beautiful place to stay. We arrived to a very friendly welcome and were made to feel right at home. The grounds are beautiful and our children loved playing there. The cottages are immaculately clean and very cozy with everything you need. The location is very peaceful and perfect for scenic walks. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivehappychristians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

From the moment of our arrival to the much loathed time of depature West Hollowcombe is the essence of Exmoor, tranquil, beatiful and everso friendly. The welcome was as warm as the log fire and the cream tea was as fine as the views. The owners are a mind of local information and are more than willing to share it with you. You are never made to feel you are intruding nor cramped. If peace, tranquility and your own space is your thing you'll find it in spade loads at West Hollowcombe but don't miss out on some great banter over a cup-o-tea in the sunshine on the ample lawn space. For some ideas of what to do, where to eat and where to go . . . just read the visitors book! We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColandPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

quiet location, helpful people, our room lacked a sunny aspect but good view of bird feeder!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robnjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages

Address: Hawkridge, Hawkridge, Exmoor National Park TA22 9QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Hawkridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hawkridge
Price Range: $89 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing