We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome and relaxing break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome and relaxing break”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

A lovely cottage set in the middle of nowhere - perfect for getting away from the world. We had a warm welcome from Peter and Irene (with scones!) who were on hand if we needed anything, but not in any way interfering. We had a fabulous week getting away from it all and generally relaxing, for a very reasonable price. We would definitely go back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
145
79
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Peter & Irene certainly don't let standards slip, that's for sure! From the cleanliness of the cottage to the superb cream tea waiting on our arrival everything is tip top. As locations go you can't beat it for sheer peace and tranquility. Great pubs for food if you don't do the self catering thing ... Royal Oaks at Withypool and Winsford, the London at Molland or the Crown at Exford all within a good walk, a cycle ride or a quick drive which ever suits you. West Hollowcombe is a great launch pad for days out exploring and if you are into photography the light is ever changing and inspirational. If you only do one thing right this year, make it a visit to West Hollowcombe farm!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ColandPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have just enjoyed another holiday at West Hollowcombe Holiday Cottages. Wonderful views, walks and superb, immaculate accommodation. Irene and Pete Larcombe are fabulous hosts and nothing is too much trouble. They even helped us out when, stupidly, we underestimated the time and distance across the moor from Bossington, that we missed the garage opening times in Dulverton and almost ran out of petrol. Pete to the rescue with a big can of unleaded; they certainly go that extra mile for their guests.

Room Tip: All cottages are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineGHighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Just returned from another stay and, as ever, everything was perfect. Beautifully appointed accomodation, spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
It is a great mystery to us why more people dont visit Exmoor. It is beautiful, exceptionally quiet and has everything you could wish for. This is the place to be if you want complete relaxation without busy roads and crowds. From secluded beaches to spectacular countryside it has it all. The people are friendly and you can almost have the place to yourselves. Give it a go you wont regret it!
At West Hollowcombe you are perfectly placed and assured of a warm welcome from the lovely hosts Peter and Irene.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have lost count of the number of years we have been to West Hollowcombe and little has changed from the excellent reception, facilities, and warmth that we have always enjoyed. Fortunately we had good weather this year so were able to explore the area more thoroughly and were sorry when the holiday ended.

Will be back next year

Room Tip: All cottages are well maintained and very comfortable whatever the weather. The cottage selected dep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had a last minute break, and stayed in Smiddy cottage. Lovely, clean, well equipped and cosy, with a log fire-perfect.Peter and Irene made us feel welcome and even offered to get the log fire going for when we returned from our day of exploring.
Great base to explore this beautiful place. Would definitely recommend, and we will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

After a warm and friendly welcome from Pete and Irene, we enjoyed our complimentary scones and settled into our cosy accommodation in Smiddy. We had a lovely long weekend exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside with good tips on where to go and to eat from our hosts. We would highly recommend staying here and look forward to our next visit!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkridge
16.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
560 reviews
7.6 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tarr Farm Inn
Tarr Farm Inn
#1 of 2 in Tarr Steps
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Woodcombe Lodges
Woodcombe Lodges
#4 of 21 in Minehead
61 reviews
5.1 mi away
Edgcott House
Edgcott House
#1 of 8 in Exford
146 reviews
3.1 mi away
King's Farm
King's Farm
#2 of 2 in Withypool
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages

Property: West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages
Address: Hawkridge, Hawkridge, Exmoor National Park TA22 9QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Hawkridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hawkridge
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing