We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cottage Great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was our first visit but wont be our last, a fantastic cottage with superb hosts and even better views ! The cottage is very well equiped and finished to a high standard ( we stayed in Kiri ) My two boys (10 and 12 ) loved the outside space and the park and did not want to leave, well located for exploring Exmoor as well as the coast, great walking and wildlife spotting. Many thanks to Peter and Irene (especially the cream tea !) Col,Jud,Sam(12), Josh(10) Aud and Ian (Derek) LOL.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 281 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was our first visit to West Hollowcombe, and our first ever 2-week holiday, so I was a little nervous - if things weren't great it's a long time to live with it... However, I needn't have worried - we could have stayed for another two weeks!! We stayed in 'Norton' an upside-down cottage giving wonderful views across the woods from one side, and the lawn and playground from the other. The cottage was spacious and very comfortable and well equipped. With 2 bathrooms and an extra toilet there was never any fighting to get a bath or shower or nip to the loo! The real plus for us was the playground and security of the area meaning our 5 year was afforded freedoms she rarely gets at home as we live on a busy road. She was, literally, out playing from dawn until dusk (and beyond) and we knew she was safe. She made some wonderful friends who, like us, have talked of returning next year - so who knows, maybe she made some life long friends?! Peter and Irene are truly wonderful hosts, keen to really get to know their guests. From the wonderful cream teas (which we were lucky enough to get two of, staying two weeks!) to tractor rides with the kids and even a card a bottle for my husband's 40th - they really are keen to make your stay the best it can be. I would not hesitate to recommend this location to anyone - as long as we've got our next stay booked in advance so we don't miss out! Looking forward to visiting again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ange G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was our second two week holiday in West Hollowcombe and it was even better than last year. We felt at home straight away and got on with enjoying everything Exmoor had to offer - Scenery, Relaxing, Riding, Exploring, Walking, Beach days, Picnic days, Exmoor pony and deer spotting etc, etc...

Search no more, you`ve found the ideal Exmoor holiday accomodation !!

Thanks again to Peter + Irene.

Amy(8), Megan (11), Marion + Mark

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMMA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. Peter & Irene were excellent hosts with a very warm welcome and a fabulous cream tea on arrival. The cottage (Norton) was very well equipped and maintained to a very high standard. Beautiful views and excellent walks from the cottage, especially enjoying the walk to Tarn Steps including a lunch stop at the pub. Would highly recommend the cottage and definitely would come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our family have just returned from a glorious week in West Hollocombe. The location is set in it's own grounds and the views are spectacular. Very peaceful, a perfect holiday to relax. There are great walks, breathtaking scenery.............just perfect! The cottages are spacious and really comfortable with everything you possibly need. Owners Peter and Irene were terrific hosts and lovely people. We enjoyed fabulous weather all week and spent many long evenings eating or just having a drink outside. An ideal holiday destination.Truly picturesque! Highly recommended!

John, Vicky, Alice (13) and Emma (11) and Milly, the golden retriever (Cambridgeshire)

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Jasper' Cottage, living accomodation was upstairs and sleeping/bathrooms d...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

West Hollowcombe is the best holiday cottages we have ever been to. We have stayed in 3 of the cottages and couldnt fault any of them. Peter and Irene are lovely hosts and couldnt make you feel more welcome and they advise you on nice places to eat and visit. We would definately recommend here for a very nice relaxing break which is why we keep returning year after year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We used this cottage for our rest day while walking the two moors way and it was perfect! Lovely cream tea on arrival, a laundry room (we were VERY muddy) and two bathtubs which was very good for achy muscles. Peter and Irene were very accommodating with everything from a lift to the pub (and back) to buying in our groceries before we arrived and drying our tents and boots. The setting was lovely and perfect for walking or just relaxing. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkridge
4.9 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
7.6 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tarr Farm Inn
Tarr Farm Inn
#1 of 2 in Tarr Steps
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm B & B
#2 of 17 in Dulverton
122 reviews
5.1 mi away
Edgcott House
Edgcott House
#1 of 8 in Exford
155 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#1 of 2 in Withypool
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages

Address: Hawkridge, Hawkridge, Exmoor National Park TA22 9QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Hawkridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hawkridge
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing