We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but is it an hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Churchill Court Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Not bad but is it an hotel?”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The room was good but we arrived after the reception had closed - was very late - 5pm!! Rather impersonal door and key lock - could not eat in the "hotel" or have a drink as we were too late! No water glasses in the room . Bed & pillows comfortable but had to eat in neighbouring visit . They tried hard but wouldn't have booked if known it was really just a dear B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    25
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
37
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel - well furnished and neutral decor. The hotel is close to a village road and whilst not a very busy road the traffic could be heard within the room. Cob webbs were visible on the ceiling and there was traces of a past occupants cut/shaved hair on the bathroom shelf! The bed was clean & comfortable. Breakfast was nice too. Overall not a bad stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just returned from a last minute weekend to this beautiful little hotel.

The staff, especially Rachel, were fabulous throughout our stay. From inviting us to arrive a little earlier, when I called to check they'd received our booking to providing us with invaluable local information. The hotel is small and personal and very new and beautifully appointed.

We stayed in an executive suite, which had a lovely corner settee, fab shower and bathroom and the most comfortable of beds. The only improvement would be to change the blinds to the type that can be angled to give in natural light. This would give more privacy from the Technical Park that the rooms overlooks and also save lighting costs.

Breakfast was served in Winstons Cafe. We had the full English option both mornings and this was freshy cooked and tasty.

The hotel is based on a main road. However, there was hardly any noise in our room, it certainly gave us no concerns. You do need a car for getting out and about, as there are few pubs/shops close by. The hotel supplies an informative Guest Book with information about the local eateries and even takaways that deliver.

There is a train station 5 minutes walk away. We caught the train into Oxford rather than drive. It was perfect, an hourly train, a 9 minute journey and no worries about parking or traffic. Do make sure you get a ticket for the Open Top Bus if you've not been before.

We would definitely stay at this delightful hotel again. It is convenient for Oxford, Blenheim Palace and the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Executive Suite gives you more space and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Owner at Churchill Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after staying at the Courtyard Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we shall ensure all staff have read your comments and in particular Rachel. We appreciate all customer feed back and in particular helpful and positive comments.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Courtyard Hotel.

Kind Regards
Caroline Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here whilst attending a meeting in the area. I was encouraged by the good reviews but found the booking process a little disconcerting. The hotel relies on a booking agency which seems to be based overseas. Having made the booking, I then received an email a few days before the date stating that the hotel would not be open during the afternoon of my arrival and giving me a door entry code. I was instructed to look for a locked box in the reception area with another unique code which would release my room keys. This seemed unconventional and over complicated and I did think of cancelling the booking but in the end decided to proceed. In the event, I arrived early and there were still staff on the premises although they disappeared after lunch time and I never saw any further staff until breakfast the next morning. Despite this, the hotel is really well presented and the room was excellent. The decor is modern and welcoming throughout and I very much enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I came to the area on business at Oxford airport. I was looking for a hotel in the Woodstock area as this is near to oxford airport.

After searching online I decided to try this hotel as it is located close to hanborough train station which has a train to london (from where I was travelling). Don't worry it's walking distance but absolutely no sign of the station or noise!

The rooms were clean, the staff very friendly and the coffee was the best way to start the day followed by a nice cool beer in the evening after all my hard work.

Wifi, throughout for free was brilliant too.

Would use again. Thanks to everyone at the courtyard hotel for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Oopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a little oasis and the best kept secret in the area. I haven’t stayed in the hotel but have used Winston’s bar/ cafe on several occasions. It is spotlessly clean and has a nice modern, fresh feel. The staff are all local people and can’t do enough for you. They are cheerful and friendly with just the right level of courteous service. Winston’s has the usual selection of coffees but with great taste and cheaper than chain outlets. A large cappuccino is £2.75p, less than a Starbucks and a much better taste. There is also a fab range of fresh baked cakes and goodies that are cooked by the owner’s wife (no pre packed stuff here). A selection of daily papers are available for a read with your coffee if you want to drink in or they can provide a `take to go` option for your drink. The owner, Mike, is normally on site every day to oversee everything. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for him. Long Hanborough railway station is a short walk from the Hotel making this a perfect location for sightseeing in Oxford. Woodstock is a short drive, 3 miles or so for a visit to Blenheim Palace/ Winston Churchills grave. The hotel is situated on the A4095. The traffic can be heavy during the morning rush hour from about 7.30 to 9am but during the evening and overnight its very quite so I can’t imagine that there would be road noise that would impact on your stay. The Courtyard is a lovely addition to the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitty2352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Needed to write a review relating to the Winstons Cafe/Bar which is part of the hotel. Very freindly staff, always willing to help, even at short notice for things like company buffet lunches etc. I work at a local company and having the cafe there.. walking distance actually forces me to have a break and wander over for a lovely coffee or something naughty to eat. I haven't stayed in the hotel but I love the concept of turning an unused office building into a hotel and eatery, benefitting lots of people in the community and visitors to the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Hanborough
2.8 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,635 reviews
4.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
811 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#13 of 44 in Oxford
1,073 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Court Hotel

Property: Churchill Court Hotel
Address: Main Road, Long Hanborough OX29 8LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Long Hanborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Long Hanborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Churchill Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Churchill Court Hotel has a mix of single, double and family rooms, including a number of family rooms with mini-kitchen. The ideal choice for exploring Blenheim Palace, Oxford and The Cotswolds. With our onsite Winston's Cafe and Winebar, you can feed your hunger or quench your thirst. Ideal for business visitors convenient to Oxford Airport and Main Line Railway Station to London, 5 minutes walk. Furnished to a high standard with quality furniture and memory foam topped beds. Air Conditioning in all suites. WiFi is free throughout the Hotel. Breakfast is served onsite daily. 5* Food Hygiene Rating. Free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and LateRooms so you can book your Churchill Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing