We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant cottage in a great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Yew Tree Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Yew Tree Cottage
Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Yew Tree Cottage
Kitchen
Birds Eye View Of Moulsoe
Garden
Kitchen
Twin bedroom
Cosy attic room
Open fire lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 10
Moulsoe, Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
686tom
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant cottage in a great location”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I cannot recommend Yew Tree Cottage highly enough. Loads of room and character and a really great garden too - it's a real bargain in terms of what you get for your money. And it's also in a perfect location - close enough to the M1 that it's easy enough to find but far enough away that it feels like you're in the middle of nowhere! Also a great local pub and plenty to do in the area. Would love to come back again.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and found that there was everything you needed in the cottage. We do try to keep the decor and furnishings in keeping with the 300 year old character of the property. It was an added bonus that you had great weather and could enjoy the garden - I hope the children enjoyed it. Hope to welcome you back again - so long as your husband doesnt mind the crick in his neck!!
All the very best
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy yet spacious cottage with tons character!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Together with a group of friends I spent a long weekend in Yew Tree Cottage hosting our annual Christmas get–together and dinner that we have been holding for 9 years. The cottage was absolutely superb. Helen (the owner) was also terrific – responding promptly and thoroughly to our questions about the kitchen, its equipment and even bought us some Yorkshire Pudding trays for our roast! The cottage is a labyrinth of charming, comfortable rooms that made our stay a memorable one. Would highly recommend to anyone!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review and delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. I hope your group managed to enjoy a few glasses of wine in front of the cosy fire! Perhaps you will return to the cottage for a summer get together and be able to enjoy a BBQ in the garden.

Very best wishes
Helen

p.s. glad the Yorkshire Pudding trays came in handy!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely winter escape”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at Yew Tree Cottage over New Years Eve for a cosy retreat and it didn't disappoint. It's a beautiful and quirky house, full of character (well worth the few bumped heads on the low door frames!) Really well located - only 15mins drive from Milton Keynes train station but still situated in a nice quiet country village. It's a shame not everyone can fit round one table to eat (there are two tables in two separate rooms) but other than that the kitchen was brilliantly equipped with everything you could need. We didn't have kids with us but the play area in the garden looked like good fun! The bedrooms are basic but do the job and the booking process was easy from start to finish. We'll certainly be recommending Yew Tree Cottage to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of the cottage - we will certainly look into getting a larger table for the kitchen as I fully appreciate with a large group it is nice to sit together.

Hopefully not too many bumped heads during your stay!

Thank you for leaving the cottage in such a neat and tidy condition.

Hope you will stay again soon.

Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMark...
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This is a beautiful cottage with so much character. Everything that we needed was provided, going over and above what we expected. The kids loved playing both around the house and in the garden.
Helen, the owner, got back to my emails quickly and was always extremely polite and helpful.
The local pub, the Carrington Arms, is a very short walk away and has a good selection of wines and beers and a good sized beer garden.
Lots to do and see in the area for both adults and children.
Nothing at all bad to say about the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2013
Dear David

Thank you for your very kind words. I am so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay at the cottage, and most impressed that you were still able to have a BBQ in late September!

Hoping that you will visit the cottage again in the future, and thank you for leaving the cottage so lovely and tidy!

Kindest Regards
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing weekend, beautiful cottage, even though it rained!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a fantastic stay at yew tree cottage with x10 of us all in our 20's and didn't get bored!! lots of games and fun things to do even though it unfortunately rained in august. The local pub had amazing food for my birthday celebrations. The house is extrodinary and had a kitchen to die for!

Thank you soooo much for makinf my birthday a special one helen! Anna xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2013
Dear Anna
I am so pleased that yourself and your friends had a great stay at the cottage, and that you enjoyed the hot tub!!
Delighted that your stay added to a happy birthday!
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habz83
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well equipped, period cottage”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a fairly large group visiting Yew Tree Cottage. At most, 10 adults and 3 children.

First impression is excellent. The cottage is beautiful! Inside it is clean, sympathetically decorated with modern furnishings. The floors are wonky and the doors different sizes, but it all adds to the character of the property.

The house itself is very well equipped, and child friendly. Especially the garden. The children thoroughly enjoyed the play equipment provided. The kitchen contains much more than I would normally expect. It's also nicely situated within walking distance of the local pub, and lots of public bridleways with fabulous views over the countryside.

It's also very convenient for Willen Lakes, Gulliver's land and Centre MK. We all really enjoyed our stay at Yew Tree and would love to visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that the children in particular enjoyed the play area. Very pleased to hear that you were also able to enjoy all of the amenities close by. Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TizBuzzy
1 review
“Beautiful times”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This cottage is a total bargain, it's got the loveliest garden and interior. Location wise, it was great for us, five minutes from Willen lakes and clay pigeon shooting. It's so easy to find, but when your there it feels like the middle of nowhere, the local pub has excellent food too. Couldn't recommend this cottage highly enough!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about Yew Tree Cottage. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and really do hope to welcome you all back again. I agree the local pub does serve excellent food and only a short distance from the cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing