We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem ... and hopefully not for much longer”
Review of Canal Walk Cafe & Restaurant - CLOSED

Canal Walk Cafe & Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $41
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A hidden gem ... and hopefully not for much longer”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Despite it almost being on my doorstep, it was a TripAdvisor recommendation that got me to check out the Canal Walk Cafe. Eating out can be such an anti-climax these days; expectations of culinary delights at affordable prices is normally met with over-priced processed fodder, the quality of which you wouldn’t feed the dog.

So it was such a joy to experience exceptional food, in a comfortable environment, served with attention to detail by someone who obviously cares about every plate that leaves the kitchen. Of the four different main courses ordered by our party, every meal was superbly presented with just the right amount of food to not leave you hungry or give you stomach ache. The goats cheese and beetroot risotto, the beef, the pork, the chicken, the accompanying vegetables; all were exceptional.

One of the party has a serious nut allergy, but as everything is made on the premises, we knew that whatever was ordered would be safe and that included the mouth watering deserts, which is extremely rare for allergy sufferers. So what's the catch? None - even the wine menu is well balanced and good value.

I cannot recommend The Canal Walk Cafe enough. Cafe by day, restaurant by night, it just needs more bums on seats to make sure this little piece of heaven becomes an establishment that will survive the current economic climate. It deserves to.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMinestrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naas, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food & good value”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This place is a little gem, Michael the Chef is kind & sincere but most importantly loves what he does from the food he cooks. I have only been in the place twice but the food is second to none. I also had the steak & would love another one now, perfectly cooked as I requested. A must try when in Sallins

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place is really great, Really not what you would expect from the onset!!! Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sd550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A wonderful experience!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We went to this restaurant beause my husband had seen it when walking up the town. It is a marvelous little restaurant with a great atmosphere. There is attention to detail, with the little things really making a difference. I love my steak and chips, and instead of your normal chips, I was offered sweet potatoe chips, instead of the normal fried mushrooms, wild mushrooms, instead of just regular butter and bread, herb bread with sun dried tomato butter, and I could go on and on. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone. The chef is very friendly and chatted to us about his love for food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCMNaas_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stunning food, lovely location and great service”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I came here for lunch when I heard from alot of people how great it was and it lived up to the hype... and more!
Its entrance is very unassuming and is almost uninviting so that would be my only issue but don't let that put you off.
The attention to detail, the service and food is top class.
The chefs passion comes through in the taste of his food, the menu is very resonably priced, there looked like a great selection of wines to choose from and the large cup of coffee I got was delicious.

As everyone on here has already said - go if you haven't been - you'll love it!

Looking forward to going back there for dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dolldoll200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canal Walk Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Sallins, County Kildare
Sallins, County Kildare
 
Sallins, County Kildare
Sallins, County Kildare
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing