We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hike!”

Staunton State Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Pine
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Park opened in May 2013. The park is very easy to navigate, Facilities are clean and easy to locate. Nice outcropping for climbing. We hiked Staunton ranch trail(3.3 miles) which I feel is a pretty easy hike with some elevation gain and great views. After a few miles we hopped on scout line trail(1.5 miles) which is a more technical trail. Lots of rocks and switchbacks the first half of the trail but well worth the climb. We didnt make it to Elk Falls due to the weather, one piece of advice is please bring lots of water and a rain jacket. When we first got there it was 80 and sunny but 2hrs later a storm rolled in and dropped some heavy rain and lighting. Luckily we had our rain gear so the trip back to the car wasnt horrible.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joeyv78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Colorado's newest state park is a "mini-Yosemite"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just 40 minutes west of Denver, Staunton State Park opened to the public in May 2013. Colorado's 42nd state park has a little bit of everything to offer those who visit.

Simply head south from Denver on four lane US 285 and within minutes you will be in a mountain wonderland. Ranging in elevation from 8000-10,000' in elevation, the park's main feature is 20 plus miles of hiking, mountain biking and equestrian trails.

The park features a beautiful viewing point for Elk Falls as it flows past Lions Head and Chimney Rock formations. Technical rock climbers will love the designated climbing area featuring over 60 routes ranging from beginner to extreme. In addition,the park features ponds and small streams for anglers.

A reminder that the visit will cost $7 per vehicle and one should arrive close to opening time on weekends, to beat the crowds and summer monsoon rains.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another beautiful Colorado State Park!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My daughter and I and her little dog went to Staunton to do some hiking and to see this new state park that just opened this year. We were not disappointed - it is so nice and the facilities are clean and new and just perfect! We hiked about 6 miles and had a wonderful day. Dogs are allowed on leash on the trails. We carried a small lunch in our backpacks and made a day of it. This park is close to Denver and easy to get to. I highly recommend it for a nice day away from the city.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SandyColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Staunton State Park also viewed

 

Been to Staunton State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing