We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we loved it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parshall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bar Lazy J Guest Ranch
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“we loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

we rjust eturned from the bar lazy j ranch 3 days ago, and yesterday we re-booked our vacation with them for next year. i think that says it all. as much as we loved the ranch, our kids thought the experience was "awesome". the kids program is impressive. our kids, ages 8 and 10 had never ridden before this vacation, and were extremely comfortable riding by the end of the week. the accommodations are authentic, rustic and extremely well maintained. jerry and cheri run an efficient and fun ranch.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hdk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
22
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

A little bit of a slow start but there is definately a reason. Once you have adjusted to the altitude the fun never stops. Your hosts and the staff will not let you down. The horses are great, and the cabins are cozy. So if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle, relax and kickback, meet some new friend's, this is definately the place to go. Dont' let the schedule fool you, your options are endless. We don't have children but the one's that where there sure looked like they where having the time of there life and not a game boy in sight. Just beware of the bottomless cookie box!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaleHorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Exceeded all expectations, provided ample opportunity to ride quality horses in spectacular surroundings. The High Country ride was a highlight. Can't fail to note the incredible attention to detail, the western art that is everywhere. Cheri and Jerry have made the Bar Lazy J experience a sensory triumph with the extraordinary art displays, excellent food, comfortable accommodations and thoughtful hospitality. We felt cared for and appreciated. Hiking with Cheri an extra treat. Will be back to vist next year! Have no problem recommending the ranch to anyone! Cheryl and Carol, the "Sisters"

Room Tip: Just give them a call!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiesMom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I am so glad we chose the bar lazy j ranch for our western vacation. I can not say enough about the ranch, horse program, kids activities, food, and especially the owners. The minute we arrived we were greeted by name and treated like family. The horse program took my non riding family all the way to loping. We always felt safe on the horses and they are very well taken care of. I have an 11yr old that we lost to the kids club and all her new friends. My 13yr old rode with the adults and loved it. Fishing was great in the pond, jeep rides were beautiful in the old jeeps, mountain biking was great except it was all uphill, the food was wonderful. The cabins are very nice and clean. I was surprised at the quality of the sheets and towels. The best thing I can tell you is that my kids did not miss the tv at all!! If you are looking for a ranch that your whole family will love this one sets the bar. Hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tkdidot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Went to Lazy Bar J with family (2 adults and an 11 and 13 yr old) and it was wonderful! The staff make this excellent dude ranch vacation truly special. The horses were great and the staff caters to the specific needs of each rider. There is nothing like seeing the Colorado River on horseback. The food was excellent and everyone very accomodating. From the owners to the summer staff, it is very evident that the ranch is not only a well-run business, but a true love. Whether travelling as a single person or with a family, I would not hesitate to recommend the Lazy Bar J to anyone considering a dude ranch vacation. They have an excellent return rate and it is easy to see why! I hope to be back ASAP!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodieRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

Well, we are grandparents and wanted to do something special with our granddaughters. They love horses, reviewed the guest ranches in Colorado and took a chance on Bar Lazy J. When our two grown daughters found out we were taking the two granddaughters (we have six grown children) they insisted on coming also. Cheri Accommodated us in Mariposa (G-ma, G-pa in Mariposa, and the two daughters in Ginger Quill and Pink Lady). The week was so fantastic! You must understand, we live on a 100 acre ranch in California. We have owned at least 16 horses. For us to take a dude ranch vacation was a real stretch.
Well, we loved every minute of it! The granddaughters could not stop talking about it for two weeks after their return. Now their parents want to take them and we are not happy about it. We wanted it to be our special experience with the grandchildren. Oh well.

As for the riding, well, there's a reason they call them the Rocky Mountains..........there are rocks all over the trails and meadows! We have better riding around where we live, but the whole ambience and experience at the Bar Lazy J is what you go for. Cheri and Jerry go out of their way to create an experience that cannot be duplicated. If you are a family with young children, or grandparents that want to give your children and grandchildren experiences of a lifetime, we recommend this wholeheartedly. The only other experience that comes close is chartering a catamaran in the British Virgin Islands from The Moorings for a week. Give your family the gift of these fantastic experiences if you can do nothing else!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TitanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

This is the fifth year my wife and I have attended the Bar Lazy J Guest ranch with friends for adults week. The ranch provides great horseback riding for everyone from novices to experts. Activities are provided like music around the campfire, rodeos, shopping, spa rides, trout fishing on the Colorado river (right outside of your cabin door!), hiking, jeep rides, and even a saloon night. The food is exceptional. All of the guests get to know each other and many become lifelong friends -- returning every year. The wranglers and staff are great and the owners go out of their way to give everyone an wonderful experience. This can be a trip of a lifetime but may end up being so fun that you will make it an annual event.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Dave_H1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parshall
11.6 mi away
Hotel Eastin
Hotel Eastin
#1 of 3 in Kremmling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
11.8 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites of Kremmling
19.9 mi away
Wild Horse Inn
Wild Horse Inn
#2 of 3 in Fraser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
13.1 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#5 of 8 in Granby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ute Trail Motel
Ute Trail Motel
#2 of 3 in Hot Sulphur Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Lazy J Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Lazy J Guest Ranch

Property: Bar Lazy J Guest Ranch
Address: 447 County Road 3, PO Box N, Parshall, CO 80468-8714
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Parshall
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Parshall
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorado's oldest continuously operating guest ranch is nestled in a peaceful valley along the beautiful Colorado River. Near Rocky Mountain National Park. Warm Western hospitality and delicious home cooked meals served in our historic lodge will add to your experience. Enjoy Gold Medal fishing, scenic horseback rides (all levels), jeep rides, mountain biking, guided hiking, river rafting, and sightseeing van trips. Extensive children's program, evening entertainment, recreation barn, and heated pool/jacuzzi. Listen to the Colorado River rush by in your private log cabin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bar Lazy j Guest Ranch Hotel Parshall
Bar Lazy J Guest Ranch Colorado/Parshall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing