We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome snow mobile adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aspen Canyon Ranch

Aspen Canyon Ranch
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome snow mobile adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were in Vail for a week and decided to snow mobile. We found Aspen Canyon Ranch and booked a 3 hour trip. It was so much fun that we returned 2 days later and rode again. We would like to thank Matt for a wonderful time. We would definitely recommend this outfit and Matt as a guide.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ddexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    5
    0
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Misleading Info, Lies and Snowboard Punks”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had reservations in Breckenridge, February of 2013. While we were there, we knew we wanted to snowmobile. We knew it was expensive, but thought "When and where would we ever do this again?". Looking at it as a once in a lifetime opportunity, we went ahead and made reservations 2 months in advance. We went online and found BRECKENRIDGESNOWMOBILING.COM. We called the number listed for Breckenridge Snowmobiling and spoke to Andy Vavro. He made our reservations for us. There were 4 of us, and we booked a private tour with a guide. We were assured that either Andy, himself, or the owner of the establishment would be our guide for the tour. Andy spoke with us and answered our questions as if he were an actual employee at Aspen Canyon Ranch. Andy sounded very professional and customer oriented. And here is the reason why! Andy is not an employee of Aspen Canyon Ranch or snowmobilebreckenridge.com, but is employed by Summit Vacation Concierge, which is an outside booking agency. Keep in mind, we had no knowledge of this until we arrived for our tour. Andy conveniently left that part out, even after being specifically asked if he worked at the ranch. Andy is nothing more than a smooth-talking used car salesman selling someone else's junk. Andy described the establishment as a big lodge with a nice restaurant, complimented by a roaring fire and winter-time ambiance. As he described the place, we instantly fell in love with the establishment he described. As we eagerly awaited for February with high expectations, we planned for our vacation of a lifetime. February finally rolled around and we were more excited than ever to ride into the Rockies on a snowmobile and dine in a first-class lodge. The drive from Breckenridge to Aspen Canyon Ranch was about an hour. It was a beautiful drive, with gorgeous snow covered mountain passes. As we arrived at Aspen Canyon Ranch, our excitement was slightly deflated from the unkept conditions of the surroundings. Trying to stay positive, we entered the establishment only to be greeted by a foul stench, no fires, a run-down rustic cabin, and absolutely NO restaurant. There were snowsuits boots, and helmets less than 6 feet away from the picnic table, which would explain the foul stench in the building. The smell of sweat and body odor filled the room as we awaited further instructions. We were then greeted by a friendly older woman, who was very pleasant and made us feel welcome. She introduced us to our guide, Dylan, who was also very friendly and welcoming. After filling out paperwork, we were asked to pay for the trip, and were stunned at the total cost, it was several hundred dollars higher than we were quoted by Andy. When we asked for an explanation Joe explained that they charge an "auto-gratuity" before the trip! We believe tips are not automatic! Tips should be a direct reflection of the services provided by an individual. Joe stated "auto-gratuity" was company policy and they had done this for years. Andy from the concierge had failed to inform us of this. Joe stated that this is not the first time that Andy has lied and misled people about Aspen Canyon Ranch. Joe reluctantly and with attitude agreed to remove the auto-gratuity charges. We were within seconds of walking out and calling the whole thing off when Dylan approached us and calmed things down. He was very friendly and assured us we would have a good time. After arriving at the snowmobiles, Dylan was very thorough in explaining all the safety procedures and operation of the equipment. They had great equipment and the day was wonderful! Dylan did his best to make the tour enjoyable and memorable! We could not have asked for anything better. Dylan took us through some amazing, challenging trails, which was very fun and yet exhausting. Dylan was the only individual who made this trip enjoyable. We originally booked for a "Full Day" 7-Hour trip, but after our surprises at the "lodge" it made us late for our departure time. Therefore, a Full Day, 7-Hour tour was not possible. After 4 hours, Dylan suggested we head back to the cabin for lunch. Another lie from Andy! He told us we would have a menu of things to choose from at the so-called restaurant. There was no menu but only someone to say lunch will be ready in about 15 minutes. They presented us with "Moose-Elk Polish Sausage on a Bun" and a box of variety Lay's Chips. The sausage was ok, but nothing to write home about. After our "gourmet" meal at the "lodge restaurant", we decided to cut our losses and head home. We then proceeded to the register to square up only to be greeted by Ryan, who also had attitude and left a bad impression about the entire establishment. We asked to speak with the owner, only to be told the owner was an investor and did not live in the area. We proceeded to the parking lot where Dylan, our guide, assisted us with our gear. Dylan apologized for the "mishaps" that his colleagues had created throughout the day. We thanked him, tipped him VERY WELL, advised him to find another company and went on our way.
After arriving back home 3 weeks later, we called Andy Vavro at Summit Vacation Concierge to confront him of his misconceptions. He denied all, called me a liar several times and said he was doing nothing wrong. When I spoke with Andy, I told him had I called the Ranch directly I never would have made reservations with them, just because of the "customer service" they provide. Andy agreed with me and said "That is why Aspen Canyon Ranch hired me, I provide a friendlier atmosphere for the customers to deal with.". We will never return to Aspen Canyon Ranch!
YOU BE THE JUDGE.
Summit Vacation Concierge: Terrible
Aspen Canyon Ranch: Terrible
Dylan and tour: Excellent

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank airboatexpressteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My friend booked the tour for four with Aspen Canyon Ranch because he knew the guide, Matt. It was a great trip; Matt made sure we were all together, comfortable, and gave us enough time for pictures. We went through different terrain and we were even able to ride with Matt through the powder on his backcountry snowmobile. It was a great experience and I highly recommend Matt for your next adventure.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iza O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
“Snowmobile Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Took a group of 18 guys on a 2 day snowmobile trip to Aspen Canyon Ranch. It was phenomenal! Our guides were Linc and Ryan. The owners were very easy to deal with and extremely accommodating as they provide most all the cold weather gear you will need. The machines all ran extremely well. The scenery was out of this world. Great terrain for a trip. Plenty of speed and opportunities for the thrill seekers or simply as pleasure ride. Snow was great and plentiful. Not a highly used public area so you have it mostly to yourself! I would highly recommend Aspen Canyon Ranch be it a corporate group, friends or family trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
“Incredible snowmobiling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

A group of us went on a great snowmobiling trip to Aspen Canyon Ranch. Our driver that picked us up was great. He was extremely knowledgeable about the area. Rod asked us several times if we needed anything!! Josh Cooper our guide was great. We had went on a 3 hour tour that the best way to describe it as one of our friends said it was the best adventure he had ever experienced. This was my four time snowmobiling but first with Aspen Canyon Ranch. I would rate it an A. Everyone had a great attitude and Josh really made the tour a blast!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aspen Canyon Ranch also viewed

Been to Aspen Canyon Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing