We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Don Mammoser Photo Day Tours
Save
Review Highlights
Canadian Rockies

My sister and I recently completed the photo tour of the Canadian Rockies with Don Mammoser. The... read more

Reviewed September 28, 2018
Tonya329
,
New York City, New York
Canadian Rockies

This trip was six days in Banff National Park. I cannot describe the beauty of the mountains... read more

Reviewed September 27, 2018
Shauna S
Read all 42 reviews
  
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
42
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canadian rockies his wife small group bird tour a lot of fun lighting conditions camera equipment great teacher new friends no matter gelato take pictures great photos seven nights sea lions nature photography photography trip
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 42 of 42 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've done several photo trips with Don, from 4 days to a week, in several Western locations. Don's been a wonderful tourguide and instructor; he scopes out the shooting locations we're visiting well ahead, and knows when to be where to capture the best scenery and the best light! He has developed a loyal following, and I've encountered previous participants on more than one trip. This speaks very well for his leadership; people (including me) wouldn't return unless Don was delivering a quality experience at a fair price!

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank jbrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Took a trip with Don to shoot fall colors last year in Telluride and it was so great that I signed up with a friend this year for his Canada trip. Just got back from a 4 1/2 day trip in Lake Louse/Banff and learned a lot! Not sure how his juggles the different personalities and knowledge levels but he does it with a sense of humor, patience, and genuine interest that each person gets the pictures they went there for. I like to shoot those pretty waterfall pictures and Don was so helpful with making sure that happened and that I used my camera correctly so everything was sharp and exposed correctly. We also shot some spectacular scenic sunrises/sunsets in places the crowds didn't know about (or Don gets you there ahead of them) as he researches everything before you arrive. There were 6 other people which was just right as we all got individual attention and everyone was respectful of each style/knowledge. Most of us didn't know each other but that changed after a few days as the show 'n tell sessions got us talking and learning from each other. Looking forward to the next trip!

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank just1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

While I don't live in Colorado, and therefore have never been on a private day tour with Don, I have attended several longer (multi day) workshops with him. The most "exotic" trip was an international tour to Florence and the Tuscany area of Italy. As an avid amateur photographer, I am passionate about photography. Don is a great teacher, ensuring that each participant goes home with the best images possible, while doing so in a relaxed and fun environment. If you'd like to expand both the technical and creative sides of your photography, take a trip with Don. It will be dollars well spent, and you will love the results as well as the experience!

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank northpolemelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.