We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still excellent.”

Flying Fork Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Paonia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: **December 4th, 2016** Closed For Thhe Winter. Reopening , March 8th, 2017 **December 4th, 2016** One of the more established restaurants in the North Fork Valley - The Flying Fork has a reputation for using the freshest, most local ingredients available. Owner/Chef Kelly Steinmetz uses the words "Simple Elegance" to describe both the cuisine and the ambience at the Flying Fork Cafe, located at the corner of 3rd and Main St. In Paonia. Dinner is elegant and packed with flavor. Choose from an assortment of pasta, braised Colorado lamb, NY strip steak, fresh fish, homemade Lasagne or fettuccine. Plus daily specials. "Being able to set up this restaurant from scratch is a dream come true," says Kelly. He keeps his eye on the "complete package" - flavorful food, outstanding service and a pleasant ambience, which is enhanced in the summer by outdoor garden seating under the fruit trees. With any meal, enjoy wines, beers, spirits and hard cider from around the North Fork & Colorado. In the bakery, sample a delicious cinnamon roll with bing cherries & walnuts or a hearty muffin with a cup of fresh roasted organic coffee. Pick up a loaf of artisan style bread, a dozen homemade cookies and stuffed focaccia breadsticks to take home. Cooking it up with Passion & a Whole Lotta Goodness since 2003.
Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Still excellent.”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I had eaten here back in 2005 or 2006 but had forgotten the name. After getting recommendations from a local resident, our group went here for dinner. I recognized the place immediately.
The service was excellent as was the food. I had a salmon dish, easily one of the best meals of the weeklong trip.
PS - if eating on the patio in the summer, get a table out of the sun. They ended up moving us so we didn't burn.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MerlinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    20
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

While riding our motorcycles between Gunnison and Snowmass, we stopped in Paonia for a lunch break and boy what a fantastic lunch we had. Very hot day and we much appreciated the porch area and garden. Husband and his friend both ordered the Turcado (turkey sandwich) based on the recommendation from our server. SO Delish! I ordered the Lemon Chicken salad which was also very good. We really appreciated that ambiance of the garden/porch area coupled with the good food and drink. If we are in this area again, we will look no further.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“fantastic garden dining”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

this is a gem of a restaurant known by the locals (it is not on the main street, but easy to find). Wonderful wine list, small and large portions and terrific for "foodies".

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Zevmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best in Paonia?? Probably”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We only had one day in Paonia so I can't really say that this is the best but it was recommended by Fresh and Wyld so we tried it since their chef was off this night. There were not complaints from anyone, The Chicken special was very good and the Desert was excellent. The garden was special.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scot b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Restaurant”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We sat out in the patio on a gorgeous spring night- it was a little magical. It was the perfect spot for a bunch of us to gather and have a fantastic culinary experience. The wait staff was friendly and attentive, everyone was pleased with their meals. Topped off with some tiramisu which we passed around the table. Excellent, but a wee bit pricier than I would expect for a small town like Paonia, but completely worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle_F_from_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flying Fork Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing