We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very personal service and great room rates”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Redwood Arms Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paonia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redwood Arms Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Paonia B&B and Inns
Sheboygan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very personal service and great room rates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel was clean and comfortable. It was large and roomy and would have stayed here longer if not attending a wedding in another town which would have entailed traveling on the great curvy roads in the dark. Recommended for extended stays because of its' modest cost.

Hope to return to the area. Resident RCA Victor dog and lovely cat keep the grounds safe.

Thank you for a great option in this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
12
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here once or twice a year for almost 20 years. Family owned friendly service. Large clean rooms with refrigerator, microwave, coffeepot. Not fancy, but always clean. Great value.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drysplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Paonia is a great place to visit and the Redwood is much less expensive that the B&Bs. The higway is a little noisy but we got a big room for a good price.
Don't believe people who say you don't need A/C in Paonia in the summer. It was great to get back to the hotel and turn on the A/C.
The staff is very nice. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: The side away from the higway is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westcoastguy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Redwood Arms is right off of Hwy 133 about a mile from main street Paonia. The people are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are decent. It's similar to a Motel 6 with some good vibes.
Good air conditioning, and you will need it in the summer. There is a fair amount of road noise, especially if you are in a room right next to the highway. Get extra pillows. Overall, a decent experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for a no-frills, clean, inexpensive place to stay.

First, I had a reservation for 2 nights but my flight was cancelled and the host did not charge me for the first night, even though I was told when I made the reservation that I would have to provide multiple days advance notice because of a local event. That was a nice surprise.

The room was much larger than I expected - plenty of room to stretch out and move around. The room and bathroom were very clean. The hotel was located conveniently on the main highway through Paonia and surrounding areas. WiFi access was good.

The only downside was that hot and cold water control in the shower was a challenge, I assume because of neighbors taking showers and flushing toilets at the same time. If I stay again I will probably make a point of showering at a time other than morning.

I would definitely stay here again. You can't beat the clean room, location, and friendly host for the price.

Room Tip: WiFi access is better in some rooms than others from what I understand. Ask for one with good access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

My daughters and I stayed here in October for a trip to pick up apples. It was clean, comfortable, quiet (except for the train which you hear all over Paonia) and roomy. My kids liked the beds, I liked the very clean bathroom. The room had 2 queens, microwave, coffeemaker, and fridge. This is not a fancy place, just clean and comfy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SuziMish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Grove, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

The owner Caroline, made us feel most welcomed to her family's motel. The room was updated with flat screen TV,small refrigerator,microwave, coffee pot and double sinks. A table and chairs for eating made the very clean room a comfortable home away from home. The price was low compared to the rest of our travels. Even though it is on the highway, not much traffic at night so we slept well. Caroline recommended the Flying Fork Cafe in downtown Paonia for dinner and it was very good food and service. A varied menu,lots of fresh vegetables,salad,fruit,herbs,etc. Up the road from motel we went to Mrs Stahls Orchards and purchased the best peaches,corn,pears,etc all organically grown locally.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kobe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paonia
16.8 mi away
Stay Wise Inn Cedaredge
Stay Wise Inn Cedaredge
#2 of 2 in Cedaredge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Living Farm Inn
The Living Farm Inn
#5 of 7 in Paonia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotchkiss Inn
Hotchkiss Inn
#1 of 1 in Hotchkiss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Cedaredge Lodge
Cedaredge Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cedaredge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Arms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Arms Motel

Property: Redwood Arms Motel
Address: 65 Highway 133, Paonia, CO 81428-6112
Location: United States > Colorado > Paonia
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Paonia
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are family owned and operated, with personal attention to details. You can be sure to get friendly, courteous service during your stay with us. Our goal is to make the Redwood Arms Motel your best lodging choice in the North Fork Valley.Whether you are here on business or pleasure, we will provide quality service to make your stay memorable. Please call to make reservations.Amenities: Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Satellite TV, Phone (LOCAL CALLS ONLY), Clock, Wireless Internet (Due to a rural surrounding and weather conditions, service may be slow or unavailable at times). Iron, Iron Board, and Hair Dryers are also available per request. DOGS are Welcome with ADVANCED NOTICE- Not all rooms are DOG friendly but we will do our best to accommodate your furry friends! ( $10.00 per pet charge ) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing