We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we found it!”
Review of Speedtrap Bistro

Speedtrap Bistro
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Palmer Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So glad we found it!”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

We were so glad this restaurant was recommended to us for breakfast as we drove from Denver to Colorado Springs! I admit that the waiter got my order wrong, but I decided to go with it. (The management was very apologetic for the error and tried to compensate for it.) It was delicious! Their homemade bread (made fresh each day) was like breakfast dessert. This place was a great find!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EMFBDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    22
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
“SpeedTrap ROCKS!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

This place rocks!! The Buffalo Bratwurst is amazing, hats off to the chefs there. Great Service, Good Food, Cold Beer and great music on the weekends. I can' wait to go back!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bschwarz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Food--Poor Service”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

The food is very good here, but good food needs to be accompanied by good service, which is lacking here. It took over 5 minutes just to be acknowledged when we sat down, another 5 minutes to get some water. When we finally ordered, our meal took 30 minutes to come out, and the order was made incorrectly. This is just breakfast and you wouldn't think it could be so difficult. Our ticket was overcharged for items we didn't order and had to get that straightened out. There is no air conditioning, which added to our discomfort and poor experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Racerocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corralitos, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The name does not describe this great little bistro!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

In this small town between Pike's Peak and Denver is a little unassuming bistro called The Speedtrap. The next time I go in, and there will be a next time, I'll have to ask them where the name came from... it certainly gives no indication as to the quality or uniqueness of this place.

An onion soup worthy of France, a salad so simple you may forever want to leave decadence behind. What can I say. A great find.

For a casual, light and fun gourmet quick stop: The Speedtrap Bistro!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmericaninMargarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brunch”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, service and ambience! Quiche of the day should not be missed and the trip into town is beautiful!! Good drink selection too.

Helpful?
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speedtrap Bistro also viewed

Palmer Lake, El Paso County
Palmer Lake, El Paso County
 
Palmer Lake, El Paso County
Palmer Lake, El Paso County
 
Palmer Lake, El Paso County
Monument, El Paso County
 

Been to Speedtrap Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing