We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place to enjoy a cuppa or light meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Speedtrap Bistro

Speedtrap Bistro
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Palmer Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Palmer Lake, Colorado
Level Contributor
172 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fun place to enjoy a cuppa or light meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The cozy coffee shop that turns into a great little hang out for a light meal and live music as the day progresses is a nice addition to Palmer Lake. Good coffee some baked goods in a small town atmosphere, not a national chain makes it special.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReidArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmer Lake, Colorado
1 review
“A little bit of Montreal surrounded by the charm and beauty of Palmer Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I just read the review of "coffee not very good" and had to laugh out loud! As a local who frequents this marvelous and continually and consistently exceptional cafe, I know that the coffee beans actually come from Serrano's -- part of the local support and community this wonderful gem of a restaurant provides. But just calling this a coffee shop doesn't do it justice. Where else can you find such marvelous crepes (breakfast, lunch and dinner options), some of the best French onion soup I've ever had, the Speedtrap salad (complete with maple vinaigrette, blue cheese, bacon and cranberries) and a surprisingly well-stocked bar? It would be hard to pick my favorite dish there -- is it the crepes Eggs Benedict or the simply amazing Sunday waffles? The bratwurst crepe or the mushroom gouda? The breakfast mimosas on Sunday? The chocolate croissant or the homemade muffins? It's no wonder this fabulous little gem, under the ownership/management of a gorgeous French Canadian named Caroline, draws so, so, so many locals and repeat customers that getting a seat on Sunday morning in particular can be a challenge -- but WORTH the wait, and after all, you get to enjoy one of the most lovely and panoramic scenes in all of southern Colorado. And the coffee? Well. most people clamor for a second cup...enough said! If you haven't eaten here, do so right away.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Coffee not very good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The coffee was awful and so were the pastries They are the only coffee place in Palmer Lake, but it's worth it to go an extra 5 miles to Serranos in Monument.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank COSpgsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stop by the Speed Trap to get coffee. I finally tried them for lunch because it was recommended. It was very good! I just got the sweet potato soup and a salad. It was really awesome. Both were served very elegantly....so don't let the looks of the place influence you. I actually DO like the look of the place. I like that it's a great little hole in the wall. They have some really cool events, too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank aja28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northglenn, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stoppped here after hiking in the Spruce Mt. open space. Besides yummy coffee drinks (nutella latte!) there are many breakfast options.
The egg sandwich contained perfectly scrambled eggs with cheese---it was great...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speedtrap Bistro also viewed

Palmer Lake, El Paso County
Palmer Lake, El Paso County
 
Palmer Lake, El Paso County
Palmer Lake, El Paso County
 
Palmer Lake, El Paso County
Monument, El Paso County
 

Been to Speedtrap Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing