We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine and lovely tasting area”
Review of Canyon Wind Cellars - CLOSED

Canyon Wind Cellars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1991, Canyon Wind Cellars is a family-owned, estate winery named for the mountain breezes that keep the fruit on our vineyard cool under the hot Colorado sun. With the assistance of renowned Napa Winemaker, Robert Pepi, the Christianson family produces award-winning, signature wines utilizing low-intervention winemaking and sustainable practices. We look forward to sharing our passion with you!
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Rode our bicycles to this winery and then drove back to load up on their great wine. Joined their wine club too. We will get three bottles every quarter. Nice people, great atmosphere, excellent award winning wine. Met the young couple who own the winery and were impressed at how hard they were working.

Thank Marco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonWind, Owner at Canyon Wind Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words! If you happen to find yourself back here again in the future give us a call! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

35 - 39 of 55 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hosts were gracious and gave us directions to continue our Journey to Utah "off the major highway" so we could experience fruit and vegetable stands along the way. Scenery was beautiful. Easy access to winery from road for inside or outside tasting. Their Pinot gris is among the very best I have tasted so of course had to order bottles to be shipped back to South Louisiana. The crackers & dips were also excellent and wait until you taste the jams & preserves. The Wine, the major attraction, is really good.

Thank Constance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonWIndWines, Owner at Canyon Wind Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thanks so much for the review! I'm so glad that you liked the Pinot Gris - sadly we are almost out! Next time you are headed through please let us know so we can work on finding you a replacement favorite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If your driving through the Palisades area. Definitely stop by at Canyon Wind Cellars. We love dry red wines. We drink reds 80% of the time and whites 20%. They had a red 47 - Ten (the elevation of the vineyards at 4,710 feet) which was a blend and very nice. The best wine there was a Petit Verdot!!!!! We purchased 4 bottles of this wine and wished we had just sucked it up and purchased a case. My sister and brother and law (he's very picky on wine) raved about the Petit Verdot we gave them when we returned home. She wants several more bottles to give him for their anniversary. The wine was outstanding. So drop in and enjoy their wines - and their very nice location.

Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonWIndWines, Owner at Canyon Wind Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thanks so much for the review! We greatly are so glad that you like the Petit Verdot (I know I'm not supposed to say this... but Petit Verdot is my favorite too)! If ever you are headed back this way in the future give us a call so we can show you around and perhaps even taste the next PV from barrels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We attended some friends' wedding here and it was a great location for a wedding, with stunning views and good facilities. In the process we tasted their wines, and our feeling was they are also making some of the best wines in the area; certainly they were the best that we tasted. They are further east up river than other wineries, and that may contribute to their success. Of all the wines we tasted in Palisade - and the quality here was consistently pretty good - theirs were the wines that we would be inclined to order and have shipped to us. We should mention that we tend to prefer reds, and some folks who favor sweeter whites and blushes might find something elsewhere they prefer - or maybe not.

Thank GilBagnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonWIndWines, Owner at Canyon Wind Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We are so happy to hear that you had a good experience, and thanks so much for the great review! If you are out our way again please feel free to stop by!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Tasted and purchased some great wines here. They have many that are award winning and you can see why when you try them!

Thank BeachbabeJenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonWIndWines, Owner at Canyon Wind Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thanks so much for the great review! We hope to see you here again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Wind Cellars also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing