We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRUIT WINES”

Carlson Vineyards Winery & Tasting Room
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Palisade
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: While we take the art of winemaking seriously, we like to have fun too. A favorite since 1988, we're known for pioneering Colorado wines made from local grapes and fruit, with names like Laughing Cat, Cougar Run, and a Dinosaur series. Carlson Vineyards, a small farm winery, produces premium wines in the heart of Colorado wine country above the town of Palisade, at an altitude of 4700 ft. Grape wines: Riesling, T-Red (Lemberger), Sweet Baby Red, Shiraz, Merlot, Chardonnay and Gewurztraminer. Fruit wines: Cherry, Plum, Peach and Pearadactyl (Pear-Apple). Relax and savor the scenic vistas of the Grand Valley and Colorado River too. Located on Palisade's Fruit & Wine Scenic Byway around mile marker 6 on East Orchard Mesa.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FRUIT WINES”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This vineyard is a neat stop when touring the Palisade vineyards. As the third oldest winery in the state of Colorado, they have a history if making a good product. During several years of no grapes after prohibition the owner experimented with other fruits to make wine. This tradition is still carried on today. We recommend the peach and cherry wines!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ahayes20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    39
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
colorado springs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of many great wineries we visited!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Really good wines, very friendly staff, and one of the employees stopped labeling bottles and took a good fifteen minutes to explain the process to us and show us the rooms where the wine is made. This is a quality operation with a generous tasting room...you gotta go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank danfbibradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
221 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“We always stop by Carlson”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I'm from Denver and any time we drive through the Grand Junction area we stop at Carlson to taste and ultimately get some wine. They have a great selection, including some fun stuff. Make sure you try the cherry wine with the chocolate glass! I always pick up a bottle or two because it is a hit at every party! The staff at Carlson is a step above any other winery in the area, they will gladly take the time to explain the wines to you, let you taste all you want (for free), and never pressure you into something. Don't miss a stop at Carlson.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColoMama33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fruit of the vine wines!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stop here for fab fruit wines! Try the Fat Cat Muscat! Friendly staff pours from the top of a lengthy list on down. I really didn't want to start at the top;) as I wanted to try those that interested me more and I was more apt to purchase. Since Carlson is known for fruit wines, that's what I wanted to try and buy. And, yes, the musket was AWESOME - so much so, that I bought two bottles.

Great selection for all wine lovers!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank skiparkcity!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good wine, friendly service”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Cool winery, glad we stopped. They predominantly served fruit wines and sweeter wines, which are not quite our style.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Capn_Cor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlson Vineyards Winery & Tasting Room also viewed

 

Been to Carlson Vineyards Winery & Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing