We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful winery in Palisade”

Carlson Vineyards Winery & Tasting Room
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Palisade
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: While we take the art of winemaking seriously, we like to have fun too. A favorite since 1988, we're known for pioneering Colorado wines made from local grapes and fruit, with names like Laughing Cat, Cougar Run, and a Dinosaur series. Carlson Vineyards, a small farm winery, produces premium wines in the heart of Colorado wine country above the town of Palisade, at an altitude of 4700 ft. Grape wines: Riesling, T-Red (Lemberger), Sweet Baby Red, Shiraz, Merlot, Chardonnay and Gewurztraminer. Fruit wines: Cherry, Plum, Peach and Pearadactyl (Pear-Apple). Relax and savor the scenic vistas of the Grand Valley and Colorado River too. Located on Palisade's Fruit & Wine Scenic Byway around mile marker 6 on East Orchard Mesa.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delightful winery in Palisade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Carlson Vineyard was the highlight of our winery tour in Palisade this month. They have a wide selection of wines to taste, with no tasting fee. We like both reds and whites and enjoyed the Laughing Cat Riesling, the Laughing Cat Gewurztraminer, and the T-Red Lemberger the most. We took 7 bottles home. The tasting room is large and has plenty of room. The staff there were knowledgeable and friendly and really seemed to enjoy speaking with us. After our tasting we relaxed in their courtyard next to the vineyards. We brought sandwiches from the bakery in town and enjoyed a glass of their wine with our lunch. We look forward to visiting them again on our next trip!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank izzi2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    36
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really nice wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Carlson had really nice wines.....reasonably priced.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This Place was the Highlight of our day!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I actually created an account just so I could write a report about Carlson Vineyard. Not only do we like their wines, we can buy them in Denver, so we have had them before, but every time we visit Palisades, we go there and their presentation for tasting is even better than the last time!.

They are a little sweeter wine than the "higher end" but I like it sweet. Their Peach Wine is unbelievable, and there is even a recipe on the bottle to make this wild hot peach drink for the winter - YUMMMMM! They have a cherry wine that is really yummy too!

But the best part of the whole trip was the very funny lady who hosted our wine tasting. OMG she was hilarious! She told us about the nudist colony - check out their website for a more PG version! Very quick witt! She was so funny we bought 2 bottles just because she was so great! I think I mentioned that we can actually purchase these wines at Dave Co for less.

Great job Carlson Vineyard! Thanks

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheenah101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sweet Treats!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Really enjoyed Carlson's wines! It's a little bit of a drive to find it, but well worth it when you get there. The staff are very welcoming and informative! Loved the choices!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“German-style wines abound”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Dry gewurtztramminer a delight. Friendy, family-run tastintg room. Bought bottles to go and a glass of wine for lunch. Bring food for the shaded backyard patio for lunch. Out of the way but worth the experience!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlson Vineyards Winery & Tasting Room also viewed

 

Been to Carlson Vineyards Winery & Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing