We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like Napa...only better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermosa Vineyards

Hermosa Vineyards
Ranked #3 of 32 things to do in Palisade
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Palisade Vineyards and Winery
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just like Napa...only better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Ken was awesome! The wine was fantastic, Ken had a great story for everything, and he had a great sense of humor. The tasting was a great experience with a wide range of choices, and as it should be everything was free unless you don't take notes, in that case the tasting is $50 (paper and pen were provided), haha. Best Winery/Vineyard on the Mesa!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    12
    6
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss the gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a fantastic winery - the tasting room doesn't look like much when you drive up - but ohhhhh - the wines are truly wonderful. Ken is very knowledgeable and freely shares his passion for wine making. Be sure to purchase more than you think you need.....because you'll discover too late that you're out of the best wine.

The dark chocolate trick has made me a believer. Thanks Ken! The distillery tip was great too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeJimH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
“Unique Wines and Amazing Guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stopped here while bike touring around Palisade. We had never been to the Palisade wine region before, but stopped in while en route to Moab.

The first thing I noticed after starting our tasting at Hermosa was that none of the varietals tasted the way I expected them to. They all were truly unique expressions. Ken, the winemaker and owner (and a million other titles, he was truly a one man show) was thrilled to explain the weather conditions, soil (Mankos Shale!) and other characteristics of the area that made it such a unique growing environment.

Aside from the wine (do yourself a favor and come taste it, it has to be experienced), Ken was a wealth of information on nearly any topic we brought up. Local history, geology, hiking, photography, restaurants and many other topics were discussed during our extended tasting. If only learning was always this much fun! When we were ready to leave we also got some great tips on what other wineries to visit and what local places to eat (and even what hikes to do in Moab)

We ended up bumping into Ken at the local distillery later that evening, he even bought us a round of drinks!! Truly service with a smile. Can't wait to come back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SheRus30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Our favorite in Palisade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Great little winery. Kenneth was a wonderful host. Friendly and fun to talk to. Great selection of wines. Hermosa isn't on some of the local brochures so make sure you don't end up missing it. My absolute favorite out here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sreelakshmi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangely, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great place to start”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We began our tour of the Palisade area wineries with this stop and we were really glad that we did. My friend and I are certainly not experts on wine and Ken, the owner was only too happy to give us a short course in wine appreciation. His wines are all very well crafted and, I think, reasonably priced for the quality.

Hint: If you are using your iPhone for navigation beware. Siri will take you to within a half mile of the place, then route you down a side street and tell you that you have to walk the rest of the way. Ignore her. Don't turn down the side street. Just stay on "C" road and you'll see the entrance straightaway.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermosa Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Hermosa Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing